Just came over from the dark side ... ;-)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Laserducky, Jan 2, 2014.

1. Laserducky macrumors regular

Laserducky

I'm an IT professional and been a power user on Windows for 10+ years.

I recently bought a new iMac and I love it ! It does seem to have it quirks and occasionally misbehaves a bit but then modern and complex OSes will always have one issue or the other. I have a high end Vaio which is a powerhouse but started misbehaving badly from day 1 so as I said, Windows or Mac, some issues will always be there for some of us but hopefully not for all.

I've seen Windows evolving, sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse and I'm excited to see this phenomenon unravel in the Mac ecosystem.

This forum is a great place to share thoughts and try and diagnose problems : I've fixed a few issues by going through the posts by the Mac gurus here !

Couple of interesting things I found :

1.) No 2 computers are entirely similar as we all load our own applications, customizations etc. Hence there might be some issues that affect some but not all. This doesn't mean that the issue doesn't exist.

2.) There are some issues that are so fundamentally big, that they affect all users and hopefully Apple will fix these as well as those in point 1 above.

3.) Running commands from Terminal is not a very good idea for Mac newbies like me as I certainly won't expect Windows newbies to do that either ( I've seen newbies do this and then regret later on)

Excited to see where this Mac road leads to !

Thanks everyone ! :)

2. MyMac1976 macrumors 6502

MyMac1976

I don't know how much Windows evolution you've seen in only 10 years but I do hope you enjoy your new iMac

3. ultraspiracle macrumors member