Just curious how this works..

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by getatkyill, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. getatkyill macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    #1
    So I'm purchasing a brand new iPhone 3GS 32GB. I have an extra spot open on my FamilyPlan to do so but need some answers. I'm actually ordering online and receiving in the mail obviously but my plan was to swap the SIM card in the new iPhone already with my current SIM card in my crap flip phone (was once used with iphone so still has 3G plan on it).

    Is there a penalty or some kind of way of Apple/AT&T knowing if I don't activate that iPhone with the SIM card it comes with? Because my plan was too take the SIM card it comes with and just put in the crappy flip phone..just swapping sims is all, sorry if this sounds confusing.

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. Opie macrumors 6502a

    Opie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #2
    I would think that as long as you have all the lines activated no matter which phone has the sim cards they could care less.
     
  3. getatkyill thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
  4. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    I believe you will need to activate the SIM that comes with the iPhone in the iPhone before you can swap them. Otherwise you are going to just have an unactivated SIM in the flip phone. I could be wrong, though...
     
  5. itsmefudge macrumors regular

    itsmefudge

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Middle of the Pacific
    #5
    When the new iPhone shows up, you can take your sim from the flip, put it into the iPhone and activate the phone through iTunes, the sim you remove from the iPhone (new sim) will not work on the flip phone. You will need to call ATT and have them activate that sim to work with the flip phone.
     
  6. getatkyill thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    #6
    Okay when I do in fact call AT&T to activate the SIM for the flip, will they ask me or know why I didn't activate that particular SIM with the iPhone I received?
     
  7. montush macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #7
    I am not clear why you are doing what you are doing.

    In any case, AT&T always knows the exact SIM and device you are using at any time - regardless of iPhone or not. It is just one of the basic capabilities built into their systems.

     

Share This Page