Just got a new Macbook Pro - need to transfer data from Western Digital Harddrive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zachleon11, Dec 16, 2011.

1. zachleon11 macrumors member

I just bought a new Macbook Pro 13'' yesterday to replace my 5 year old 15'' MacBook Pro. I have a 750 GB Western Digital Passport Harddrive that I've backed up my old computer on. When I turn on my new computer, how do it make sure that EVERYTHING gets transferred (music, word files, pictures, etc.)? I've never done anything before where I restore a computer from an old backup.

Can anyone give me a simple step by step to follow?

2. aCondor macrumors 6502

You can make a new folder in your Macbook Pro titled "Transfer" or something like that. Then, plug in your External Hard Drive, highlight everything or press Cmd + A and drag to the new folder titled "Transfer."

You may want to open a new Finder window by pressing Cmd + N when the window is up.

This should copy all your files to your Macbook Pro, where you can then move them around or place them in newly organized folders if you prefer.

3. zachleon11 thread starter macrumors member

What about during setup?

I was under the impression that this can be done during setup, i.e. the first time I turn on this new computer. Is that true?

4. nippyjun macrumors 65816

What method did you use to back up your old computer.

5. zachleon11 thread starter macrumors member

Old method