Just got an ibook g3 help required

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by wattso, Apr 17, 2007.

1. wattso macrumors regular

Hi guys, really excited to just of got my first apple laptop:) I am fairly new to the mac however (only just switched a few months ago) so I have a few questions:

1/ I would like to upgrade to Tiger, the system is 900Mhz,has 256mb of ram, 40gb HDD and is currently running 10.2.8 (jaguar??) I was wondering if I could upgrade to Tiger using the Tiger install disks that I got with the iMac c2d or is there an issue with this being a laptop and ppc ? I really dont have much of a clue about this kind of stuff with a mac, when I upgrade to Tiger I would also like a fresh install, there are no files I wish to keep, this presented a problem with my old xp laptop for drivers. Will the same happen when I upgrade the ibook? Should I format the HDD before attempting to upgrade to Tiger? If so how do I do this?

2/ I would like to install an airport card. Would I be able to install an Airport extreme card so that I can use 802.11g? Is the airport card even user installable? If so how?

Many, many thanks in advance. And I appoligise for me being a 'noob' :p

2. yippy macrumors 68020

yippy

1) You cannot upgrade using your iMac disks. This is not only illegal but the disks are Intel only.

2) Good news and bad news. The airport card is user installable, see http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/. The bad news is that you can only put an 802.11b Airport card in your iBook. If you want G you will have to get an external USB dongle for it.

3. wattso thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for your reply. So how would I go about upgrading to Tiger?

4. Frankf300 macrumors regular

Frankf300