Just Got It - 8GB Refurb

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by oldimac, Mar 28, 2008.

  1. oldimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #1
    Ok, be nice, PLEASE be nice ok, I'm an old man and you wouldn't want me to have a heart attack RIGHT? right! :p

    This is what it does when I turn it on: Slide To Unlock
    I slide and then the screen comes up with all 13 the icons on the screen and the 4 on the bottom

    This is what it is - v 1.1.2 (3B48b)
    Firmware - 04.02.13_G
    Week - 47

    Oh, and did I say, not a scratch on it - YYYES! :D

    I need to unlock it to work on T-Mobile - I have my "new" T-Mobile phone with the sim with the account set up.

    I would also like to install some apps but later not right now.

    Should I use Ziphone?

    You just plug it into your computer and do the Ziphone thing with all the options right?

    And Yes I did read the first post on this forum but damn it is scary when you actually get down to doing it. :eek:

    Thank you for being kind :p
     
  2. l4t13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #2
    correct.

    download the program click do it all and start!

    bingo!
     
  3. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #3
    ZiPhone makes permenant changes to your iPhone and has been known to break Wi-Fi on your iPhone.

    iLiberty+/iPlus (they are the same thing - iPlus is automated like ZiPhone - iLiberty lets you select what you want to do) are the other alternative and all the changes they make are reversible.

    Both are easy enough to use.

    I would recommend iPlus as its automatic...

    Follow this guide here (with photos and instructions):

    For Mac: http://www.hackthatphone.com/114/iphone_114_true_unlock_3946bl_mac.html

    For PC: http://www.hackthatphone.com/114/iphone_114_true_unlock_windows.html
     
  4. mlg32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #4
    congrats

    If you sit down take your time read everything slowly there are pics with iplus and step by step instruct, enjoy and do not be afraid to ask for help
     
  5. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #5
    Well, it's pretty obvious that not only am I old but not real smart as well. :p

    I did the Ziphone thing but now I have an iphone with this on the screen:

    "Different sim detected, please connect to itunes"

    I can slide to emergency call but that is all.

    Advice please. :eek:

    I ask humbly, I might add.

    Thanks.
     
  6. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    it clearly didn't work on your phone!

    RESTORE TO 1.1.4 USING ITUNES BEFORE DOING ANYTHING ELSE!


    I tried ZiPhone once to unlock and it failed.

    Use iPlus and try again.

    I suggest you restore to 1.1.4 just to be sure everything is back how it should be then run iPlus as I told you on the guide.

    Alternatively if you can't handle typed command prompts (which is easy if you follow instructions) then download iLiberty+.

    Click on ALL The settings on the screen in front of you (do not click out of the standard tab) - jailbreak, activate, unlock, downgrade bootloader and setup installer.

    iPlus/iLiberty WILL work.

    DO NOT try Ziphone again!

    iLiberty+ for Windows link: http://www.ipluspwns.com/?q=node/144

    For MAC: http://www.ipluspwns.com/?q=node/149
     
  7. mlg32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #7
    read thru the ziphone help section, i used iplus so i cannot really give you alot of help with ziphone, good luck and be patient
     
  8. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #8
    Ok, downloaded Ziphone v2.6 and it was successful and now back up but when I put the T-Mobile sim in it, it connects to itunes and the dialog box says "there is no carrier that supports the installed sim card in iphone" "please disconect and insert a valid sim card in the iphone.

    Where did I go wrong or have I missed a step?
     
  9. mlg32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #9
    hmmm is the sim okay in another phone?
     
  10. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #10
    as others have already stated, do NOT use Ziphone. use iPlus instead. it's as good but it doesn't do anything that can't be reversed.

    yeah, you should have listened and NOT use Ziphone. you should have used iPlus instead.
     
  11. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #11
    ZiPhone DID NOT WORK!

    It has not done anything to your phone at all so don't worry!

    That message simply means the phone is still locked and not activated.

    Why not? who knows - it sometimes works and sometimes does not.

    FIRST THING YOU DO NOW IS UPDATE TO 1.1.4 USING ITUNES.


    Either use iPlus - following the guide link I gave you.

    OR USE iLiberty+ and follow the instructions I gave you.

    FORGET ABOUT ZIPHONE - IT WONT WORK NOW!

    RESTORE/UPDATE TO 1.1.4 AND USE IPLUS OR ILIBERTY+


    I really get the impression your one of those people who doesn't want to read what
    people say and actually follow the advice of people that have done this before!

    Either do what we suggest or break your phone - its up to you!
     
  12. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #12
    It works, it works, it works - good heavens it works :D

    Well, ok the phone works but no wifi.

    Any help there?

    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  13. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #13
    What worked? What did you use? what did you do?

    What firmware did you have on your phone?

    If Wi-Fi is greyed out in the menu you are in serious trouble.

    There is no way to fix your wi-fi currently that works.

    iLiberty MAY fix it if you download the fix wi-fi option but it seems to
    only work occasionally.

    That is the whole reason why you should do what people tell you - so you
    don't break your phone which it appears that you have!
     
  14. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #14
    LOL - I was thinking the same thing. you tried to tell him what could happen and yet he obviously didn't listen.

    I've read so many posts about how peoples' WiFi get broken when they use Ziphone and yet it still happens over and over again.

    Geez......... :rolleyes:
     
  15. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #15
    Whhooaa good buddy -

    Don't think the phone is broken

    I downloaded v2.6 and did it all instead of just unlocking.

    I think the wi-fi thing is just my router at home - it sees it fine but I just cannot connect

    Up in the left corner shows T-Mobile and the little blue E

    It seems to be fine - just need to figure out the wi-fi deal :D
     
  16. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #16
    Wi-fi is not greyed out so don't really know what you purveyors of doom are talking about.

    It shows 3 networks - one locked - one with 1 bar of service (must be my neighbors) and mine with strong signal. I have mine locked down pretty hard so I THINK I just need to figure out how to get in.

    Sure hope that doesn't spoil your Friday night boys. :p
     
  17. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #17
    If your wi-fi simply won't connect then your ok.

    By some miracle your phone has survived despite yourself.

    You should still have upgraded to 1.1.4 if you did not as its always best
    to have the latest firmware... but you should know that if you do upgrade now (if your not already on 1.1.4) then you will relock your phone and have to unlock it again.

    The reason why I am being so hard on you is because you just spent $250 on something that you could have permanently broken and that Apple would not fix as they only warranty phones on AT&T that have NOT been hacked... all that you have to do to break it is not bother to follow instructions...
     
  18. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #18
    I do understand and I actually appreciate your comments. If you didn't give a damn you wouldn't have posted in the first place.

    I guess I am lucky - seldom am but its nice when you are. :p

    Ya, a $250 paper weight would have been the most expensive one I ever had. :D

    I am on 1.1.2 - do you see any reason really to upgrade?

    I have NOTHING on my phone at this point so upgrading to 1.1.4 wouldn't really be a bother now that I've done it once or to 1.1.3 for that matter. :D

    Advice?
     
  19. mlg32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #19
    there are a few minor updates in the 1.1.4 that will make life easier, but i would use iplus ,i am sure there are others whom may say otherwise,to each his own, as for the update it is nice to be up to speed with what apple has out there for the time being right now
     
  20. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #20
    First, wifi is up and working - have MAC authentication turned on and I had entered the MAC address with the last two numbers from the bluetooth MAC :p

    Second, I will definitely check out iPlus - I have read pros and cons on all of them and there doesn't seem to be a good consenus out there as to which to use.

    Spinstorm seems to like iLiberty - will do some checking.
     
  21. Aries326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #21
    I've got a OTB 1.1.2 upgraded to 1.1.4 then jailbroken and unlocked using ZiPhone 2.5 Everything seems to work fine except for visual voicemail when the t-mobile sim is installed.
     
  22. mdwsta4 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #22
    geez. you people that say 'do not use ziphone it sucks and this and that' must be idiots. it works just fine. as does iplus/liberty. if for some reason it didn't work you must have done something wrong.
    i've hacked phones with both applications with no problems. you need to make sure you're running the correct firmware to start. both are nice and automated. both still have youtube/safari/wifi work without problems.
    as far as visual voicemail is concerned... come on people! that's an ATT specific feature to be used with the iphone plan. of course it's not going to work with TMO!
    it boils down to personal preference for which app to use. just like if you'd rather buy a bmw or an audi.
     
  23. oldimac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #23
    See my new thread for what I did to get T-Mobile working for me. Hope it helps someone. :p
     

Share This Page