Just got my crucial 2x2GB RAM...Question?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zarley, May 29, 2008.

  1. zarley macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    I am receiving my 3.06 iMac next week...Does it matter if I install the new memory prior to firing it up the first time? What do you guys/gals think?
     
  2. tdevers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #2
    Shouldn't make any difference. I'd stick it in before that way you have the best experience possible. :)
     
  3. h0e0h macrumors 6502a

    h0e0h

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    West Monroe, Louisiana
    #3
    when I bought my MacBook Pro 17" 2.16 CD in June of 06 the first thing I did was install a new 1GB stick. I then booted it up and had no problems.
     
  4. zarley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Great...thanks guys! I'll intstall first, ENJOY second!...
     
  5. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #5
    Please let me know for how much you would be able to sell the Apple stock ram because I am thinking of getting 4GB directly from Apple with my new iMac!
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    First off --- ALWAYS boot a new machine and run it in its stock configuration for at least a day before upgrading it. Otherwise, how will you know if the Mac arrived DOA or whether your upgrade is at fault if it fails?

    Makes it much easier for diagnosis and for dealing with Applecare.

    mhnajjar -- unless there's a good reason to spend much more on Apple RAM, I would suggest getting your 4 GB RAM from a reliable third party seller. Apple RAM does not give you any higher quality or performance, and it will be restricted to 1 year warranty as opposed to lifetime. Plus it costs 2 x - 4 x higher.

    Guides : Hardware : Buying RAM
     
  7. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #7
    I can get 4GB ram from Apple for $180 or get that same ram from a reseller (from the MR ram guide) for around $120 but the catch is that I would be able to sell my stock ram, but how much would it be?

    I do not have any reason for paying Apple beside that I want that Samsung ram and I'll get it out of the box instead of dealing with buying and selling. I might not even need 4GB but I am just being crazy I guess since 2GB are enough for me.
     
  8. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    #8
    I always start a new computer stock and let it burn in a day before adding any third party internal hardware. If nothing else boot it, get the system patches up to date, make sure everything works then shut it down and add the memory.
     
  9. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    Unnecessary. Throw the new memory in. If you have any problems you can always reinstall the Apple RAM for a diagnosis. I see no reason to slug around a brand new shiny Mac with 1 or 2 GB of RAM for when you have 4 GB sitting there. The new RAM is not going to hide or make worse any underlying problem the machine may have (which is unlikely anyway).
     
  10. JCCash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #10
    How many sticks come with the new 3.06

    This might have been asked on another thread but when you buy the 24" 3.06 2gig ram iMac, does it arrive with one 2 gig stick or two 1 gig sticks? I would be interested in uping the ram to 4 gigs. Thanks,
     
  11. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    #11
    Comes with two 1GB sticks.
     
  12. err404 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #12
    I'd play it safe and make sure that what was shipped is all working before upgrading anything. If you upgrade the RAM before using the laptop, you will never know if the original RAM was bad. If you test it for a couple of days, you'll know its state and you can put it into another box.
    I upgraded my MBP to 4G a while ago. I recently bought a Mini and used the old 2G from the MBP in it. If I found the RAM was bad at that point, it would have been a hassle to get it replaced since the MBP was now over a year old.
     

Share This Page