Just got my CTO MBP..First Boot Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macvy Ricky, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Macvy Ricky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #1
    So I just received my CTO MBP with 4 GB ram and iWork pre installed. I pressed the power button and heard the start up sound and looked away for a moment. When I turned around it restarted again and made the startup sound again. Is that normal for it to do that on first startup?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
  3. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #3
    Seems to be running fine. But I am just curious as to why it would do that.
     
  4. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    i think it's normal, it happened when i upgraded my powermac G5 from 10.4 to 10.5, i worried slightly but it worked fine after that
     
  5. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #5
    It was my first boot though. I didnt install anything.
     
  6. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #6
    Since they preinstalled stuff and I am not sure how that works, don't worry about it. It's pretty normal to get a double boot if something has been updated or whatever, maybe they ran system up date for you before shipping.
    Unless it does this on every boot you're fine. Enjoy your MBP!
     
  7. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #7
    I dont know about updating. It still has 10.6 only.
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    I am curious
    If it is running fine, why are you so concerned?
     
  9. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #9
    Sigh..I dont really know. I have been concerned with random stuff lately.

    The reason why I found it unusual was that my other MBP just booted straight up but this one didn't.
     
  10. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #10
    Everything seems to be working fine till now. I am not concerned its more like I am curious as to what happened. Which also led me to think how Apple makes CTO macbooks.

    Do they assemble the hardware first completely and then software or software and base config first and then the additional hardware?
     
  11. John Kotches macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Troy, IL (STL Area)
    #11
    It is likely that they build the hardware and then clone the entire software stack including OS to the drive with a drive cloning tool.

    Cheers,
     
  12. Macvy Ricky thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
  13. jdmposer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008

Share This Page