Just got my first iMac, a couple questions...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tamarock, Aug 7, 2010.

1. tamarock macrumors newbie

Hi there, so I held out and waited for the refresh and got my first iMac. I got the 27" iMac i7 with 4gb of ram. I plan on upgrading to 8gb in a few weeks. I'm moving from an old dual core 2gb pc that's been overheating, so a pretty big leap for me. :cool: I'm still kinda new to the Mac world. I got my MacBook Pro about 2yrs ago, but I'm still learning. :)

I'm happy to report that there seems to be no yellow tint in the screen. From what I can tell, the screen seems flawless. I did encounter a slight problem though. I was loading all my software, which seemed to go fine. I tried installing WoW and when I loaded the 5th disc nothing happened. It made a few noises when I first put it in, but nothing happened. There was no way to eject it so I had to restart the computer to get it out. I tried it again, and on the 3rd disc it happened again. So I gave up and finished installing some software I had. All the software installs went fine. Is this a common problem with WoW discs, or is this something I should be worried about? I went ahead and dowloaded the game so no worries there, but just concerned about whether or not this is an issue with my new iMac.

Also, since I will be upgrading the ram myself in a few weeks, any recommendations on what and where to buy? I'm looking to add another 4gb. I'm very familiar with installing ram in PCs but not Macs, is the process the same? Also, any questions you have about the i7 I'll do my best to answer.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

The SuperDrives are known to be tricky and picky, I recommend you to download them or buy an external DVD drive if you need to use DVDs a lot as SuperDrive tends to scratch them and has issues ejecting them etc

I would buy from OWC, RAM installation video

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013