Just got my iMac 27 replacement

Discussion in 'iMac' started by whoisrhp, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. whoisrhp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys I just got my iMac replacement it took about 3 weeks to finally get another one my new one is a week 52. My old iMac had 19 dead pixels and the replacement has 0 dead pixels on the iSight, and the replacement seems cooler comparing the temps with istats.

    My only concern right now since im kind of new with snow leopard and macs, when you install an application after you download it isn't the icon of the application suppose to show up right away? or do you have to restart the computer every time after you install an application? because right now every application i install the pic doesn't show up it has a circle with a cross through it
    here's a SS i took.

    http://i47.tinypic.com/2la3nmf.png

    I just installed adium and dragged / copied the file over to the applications folder.

    Does anyone know if this is normal?
     
  2. alma09 macrumors newbie

    alma09

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #2
    Hi,

    This is normal. This thing will disappear after you first start this app and confirm you want to use it.
     
  3. whoisrhp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #3
    I have confirmed and even ran the program the icon only fully shows up normally with a restart. :( i just tried with different programs, is there a setting i misclicked?
     
  4. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

    tofagerl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #4
    Nah, it's a pretty well known issue. You can restart finder instead of rebooting, if it really bothers you, but it's a purely cosmetic issue.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    I'm shocked that Apple hasn't fixed this yet, but don't worry, it's not you.

    You can open Terminal and type: killall Dock

    And the dock will restart and the icon will show up (note that this stops all your dashboard widgets, so the next time you go into dashboard, they will start up again).

    -Kevin
     
  6. whoisrhp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #6
    thanks guys so is this a software / os issue? do you think it will be fixed with a clean install? or will this be fixed with a patch update?
     
  7. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #7
    Clean install won't help because I did a clean install AND and upgrade on my two machines.

    Sooner or later it'll be patched in a point release.

    -Kevin
     
  8. whoisrhp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #8
    thank you kevin.
     
  9. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #9
    It is a an issue that Apple won't fix for some stupid reason, however you don't have to do full restart to see the icon, just log out and log back in.
     

Share This Page