Just got my macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macornomac, Jun 29, 2007.

  1. macornomac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys just got my macbook and I've been tinkering around with it and stuff for the last few hours. Setting it up was a brain fart for me because I couldn't figure out why it wasn't connecting to the internet when it asked for a password. Then I found I need to use the $ sign.

    Ok got a quick question. Is the screen portion of the computer like really flimsy??? Not the screen itself but you know the top part of the computer when its opened. Like I have it on a desk and when I move the desk I can see the thing wobble which is kind of weird. Is this the same with all the macbooks??? Thanks guys.
     
  2. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #2
    Not sure what you mean here. Almost all computer screens shake if you shake the table.
     
  3. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #3
    not the screen but I guess the lid. It doesn't feel like its secured. Like if I touch the top of it feels wobbly. Maybe it's just me being overly cautious about it since it's new and all but just wondering if it's the same with all.
     
  4. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    Well since the lid is fairly thin, I'd imagine that it would shake a little if you touch it. How bad is the shaking? Does it wobble too much if you just touch it? Do you give it a little nudge when you touch it? All of these things can help you know if you have a bad hinge or something.
     
  5. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #5
    Yeah I mean I touch it with one finger and you can see it move. I'll try and go to the store and see how the store models are. I mean what are the odds of it being a bad hinge???? It's brand new lol. Yeah right my luck it probably is a broken hinge but I think it's fine just being cautious.
     
  6. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #6
    My mbp shakes a little, but so did my old PC notebook. I think it's almost impossible to have a notebook with a non-shaking lid. If it's really bad, where you can see it shaking for several moments, and for a reasonable distance, then take it to a store and have them tighten the hinge.
     
  7. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #7
    Ok here is a another newbie question. Is it possible to make the internet screen fill up the whole screen instead of like half? Is this possible with macs or will not be able to fill the whole screen? THanks
     
  8. lil' brudder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #8
    yeah, the little green circle
     
  9. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #9
    Well, that's actually more of a "restore." I usually just drag the arrow in the lower right corner and make it full screen. OS X remembers how I like it, so I usually don't have to redo it.
     
  10. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #10
    ok thanks calboy that made my screen fit the whole screen. I have another question guys. Im using safari and how do I get the setting to where i can open mulitple windows. I'll open one window and i'll go back and click safari and it won't do anything. Thanks.
     
  11. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #11
    Go to the File menu and select 'New window', or you can just press command+N. If you have tabs enabled, you can press command+T and it will add a new tab to your window.
     
  12. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #12
    thanks another quick question. on the color display setting what do you have your settings on?? right now mine is on color lcd which i think is the default. my screen kind of looks washy with the brightness all the way up. it looks a little better in adobe rgb but just wondering what is the best. Also Im using this in a dark room.
     
  13. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #13
    I am using the new MBP and there is a problem with the default LCD Color profile. There are some users personal profiles floating around that can be used, but that is for the new MBP's with the LED backlight. I think you are using a MacBook. I don't know anything about the default being off adjusted on those. Maybe someone else can chime in on that.
     
  14. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #14
    yeah can anyone tell me whats up with that? It looks grainy and washy either that or my eyesight is going bad lol
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #15
    You can calibrate your screen by going to :apple: -> System Preferences -> Displays -> Color and clicking on Calibrate...
     
  16. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #16
    mabye its just the macbook screens in general. I have read other posts and people have compained about the screens. Oh well I guess you can't have everything perfect with macs. I just calibrated and still not much of a difference.
     
  17. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #17
    You make it sound like a Mac is a second rate computer. Check out the other profiles and make sure you are running at the native resolution. It should be ok.
     
  18. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #18
    haha no i'm didn't mean for it to sound that way. by the way where does it say native??? i don't see that under the settings?
     
  19. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #19
    It won't say native, but the highest resolution is the native resolution. If you are running at a lower resolution it will look blurry/grainy. Again, I am on a MBP, but the MacBook displays that I have seen have looked good.
     
  20. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
  21. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #21
    ok so I don't know if anyone else has the problems with their macbooks and the screen being washy. I thought it was only with the browser at first but I also have adium opened up and noticed that its kind of washy there too with the texting. So anyone know what to do? Get another macbook or is this the same with all macbooks?
     
  22. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #22
    ok guys guess what??? I kind of have fixed the problem on my washy screen. I tilted the screen back more then having it straight and things look more better. However I have another problem. I orded the Specktech shell for this mac and I heard you can't put the screen back as much with it on is this true?????
     
  23. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #23
    well also if you guys have any other solutions about the washy screen I would like them because even though its a little better I can still notice it washy and blurry.
     
  24. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #24
    Can you provide a screen shot? I'm really curious to know what it looks like.
     
  25. macornomac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #25
    nope no digital camera here. But I think it all has to do with my lighting inside my place and just the tilt of the screen. Maybe my eyes just has to adjust to it. Other then that its a great mac
     

Share This Page