Just got my MicroCell, unboxing inside!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nozebleed, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. nozebleed macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #1
    Start my trial of the 3G MicroCell today. Just got it set up, but its getting late and the activation is taking a bit. Ill update tomorrow. SOOOOOO glad I got it, I wouldve bought it if they didnt give it for free!! My service is full bars 3G wherever I go except at my house. Go figure.

    PLEASE DONT PM ME FOR THE SURVEY, IT WAS A PERSONAL EMAIL. THERE WAS NO LINK TO GO TO. THE TRIAL SELECTION PROCESS IS OVER.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

    SuperCompu2

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    MA
    #2
    That's pretty sweet!

    Now, do you not get internet service normally at your house or did you need this for times when you'd be on the road, needing service?
     
  3. nozebleed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #3
    Just for the house, although i guess you can bring it with you. I have literally no bars or one on Edge at the house. Im hoping this will clear it up. I have just a airport express so i was worried that id need to get something with an extra ethernet port but i just daisy chained them together

    edit - wait, i didnt read your post right i dont think. This gives me 5 bars 3G in the house, but needs high speed internet.
     
  4. carson44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
  5. toxictrix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  6. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    Told a NICE rep. at att that his service stinks at his house, they pinged his phone or checked his coverage and the rep was sexy enough to send him this.
     
  7. nozebleed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #7
    Filled out one of those dumb surveys that normally go in the junk folder one day at 6 am after setting up a garage sale and waiting on people. theyre paying me 100 bucks at the end too, i get to keep it, and no minutes count towards my contract while using it. i have about 10000 rollover minutes tho so i could care less about that. i just have to use it and complete like 2 or 3 more surveys. (setup, usage, etc etc)
     
  8. toxictrix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  9. justiny Contributor

    justiny

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield, NJ
    #9
    What's the operating range on one of these things? And is it like a WiFi router where you restrict access to it?

    I'd be pissed if I was boosting AT&T's cell network to all my neighbors while at the same time they were bogging down my internet speeds.
     
  10. nozebleed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #10
    i wish apple would send me some surveys lol

    5000 sq ft, =/- depending on obstructions, only 3G phones on AT&T, and only the phone numbers you allow. I heard that if anyone has an AT&T 3G phone thats not registered on it, it may block their service. kinda blankets all signal. Im going to test it with my neighbor, he has an iphone too. then i might be nice enough to put him on it if it doesnt cost me anything

    I did speed checks with/without it, doesnt even make a difference. And like i said, instead of being able to go from an open port on the router, to the microcell, I had to go from the modem to the microcell, to the airport express.
     
  11. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #11
    Cause att thinks everyone is stupid and dosent know how to foward ports... or it may be just a large block of random ports.
     
  12. amorican macrumors member

    amorican

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #12
    I hope it works out for ya. I'm sure it will. I have a Sprint Airave in my house and on the Sprint lines in our house we get five bars, even outside in the front and back yards.

    I get crap, only edge service with my iPhone in the house, so I'm anxiously awaiting the availability of these for At&t. I might call and see if I can get on the testing list for one of these as well.
     
  13. justiny Contributor

    justiny

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield, NJ
    #13
    Looks like AT&T thought this out. Congrats on the new toy :cool:
     
  14. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #14
    God I need one of those... I wonder if I can beg my local AT&T store to somehow get me on the test list.
     
  15. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #15
    Cool. Any details about the pricing? I get like 1 bar in my house unless I go upstairs. Then I get 3-4 bars usually. Will they charge a monthly fee? Do I need AT&T internet (currently have comcast).
     
  16. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #16
    Nice haha! That's pretty cool OP. I wonder if this will go together with MMS and Tethering, can't wait.
     
  17. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #17
    At my house I usually get like 2-3 bars on edge and but call quality is about of a half a bar. And the att website claims I get full 3G. Although if I go about >.5 miles from my house I get full 3G. Go figure. Living in the hills ftw!
     
  18. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #18
    That's because most people are when it comes to networking. AT&T doesn't want to deal with loads of support calls.
     
  19. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #19
    I am about to call up AT&T and whine all day until they give me one of these!

    3G is non-existent in this house!
     
  20. Alipor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #20
    I want to call AT&T, I have no service in my office, and even if I did it is Edge only also. Wonder what I have to say to get to try/have one.
     
  21. alansaysstop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Roseville
    #21
    Man that's awesome! I get full 3G at my house but it's still a pretty cool thing for people who live in rural areas with spotty service.
     
  22. AbSoluTc macrumors 68040

    AbSoluTc

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #22
    Really hope this comes out soon. It seems coverage in houses/buildings from ANY CARRIER is splotchy at best. Verizon seems to have that covered for the most part. Then again, my brothers and I are wondering how in the hell a signal so strong can be good for you.

    I really want this. Would be sweet to have!
     
  23. SeanMcC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #23
    [​IMG]

    Now in your own house! :p You should put one of these on your front door.
     
  24. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #24
    O2 seems not to have immediate plans... let me tell them... their service is ***** in my area... I don't even get EDGE :/ I NEED at least EDGE... this slowness is killing me, and my iPhone's battery!
     
  25. nozebleed thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #25
    Having issues with activation, Ive been on the phone with a MicroCell rep all morning troubleshooting (they give us special privileges, reps that only deal with MicroCell). Still no luck, Ive had a case forwarded to the engineers. Sucks, but all part of the "learning curve". I guess this is why they have trials. Not like its making anything worse, just not better. Oh well, we'll get it sooner or later! :D

    so that explains the excruciating headache...........lol
     

Share This Page