Just got my new Mac Pro!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TJunkers, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. TJunkers macrumors 6502a

    TJunkers

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Here are the specs:

    Two 2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Nehalem" processors
    6GB (six 1GB) memory
    640GB hard drive
    18x double-layer SuperDrive
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB

    This thing is... I mean I'm speechless. Unboxing Pictures will be up soon.

    Question... What's the best option for Wifi? I didn't get the Airport card, but kinda want it now but Apple doesn't sell it separately on their site for the 09 Models. at least I couldn't find it. I want it to be as fast as possible... aka 802.11n. Thanks!
     
  2. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You can get the wi-fi card at an Apple store if you bring the system in.
     
  3. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #3
    Cable.
     
  4. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #4
    with Gbit LAN Router and Fibre Internet
     
  5. Keniff macrumors 6502a

    Keniff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    I'm confused, I thought it was only the 8-Core that came with 2.26GHz :confused: and the Quad-Core comes with 2.66GHz and 2.93GHz?


    It's There, 14th paragraph down, for $50 usd!


    Funny you should say this, as a friend of mine just got the 8-Core 2.26GHz, and he uses a cable with Gbit LAN Router.
    The sales person on the other end of the line, on the Apple site, insisted that he should buy the 'Wi-Fi' card.
    My friend said "But I have a cable that works fine!" and the sales person said "But if you don't buy it now, and let us install it, you'll never be able to install it, so you should do it now, just in case you want/need it for the future!"

    Anyways, he got suckered into it!

    I told him "You were mugged!" :rolleyes:
     
  6. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6
    Its right, the OP said Two Quad cores which totals out to 8.

    Quad (4) x Two (2)= 8
     
  7. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #7
    orly :D
     
  8. Keniff macrumors 6502a

    Keniff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8


    Ooops! :eek: my mistake (I should read the details better and not post on here after coming back from the pub!).

    ;)
     
  9. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    For me... No WiFi inside any of my computers! WiFi imho should be at the connection point of the home or office's incoming service provider. It should be inside the cable-modem or if that can't be arranged then just one step downstream in the LAN Router. I think the same for firewall too. These things do not belong inside a desktop computer. To me WiFi is for laptops, peripherals like printers and etc., and handheld devices like the DX or the PSP or some cell-phones.

    Why do I want a sloooow network connection in a fast desktop or tower computer?



    .
     
  10. jons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #10
    I want....
     
  11. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Useful option in case you have to move your machine for some reason, or as backup if you have multiple networks, etc. And every once in awhile, someone might have to put their machine in a different room than their broadband source, and not want to (or not be able to - e.g. renters) run a wire through the wall. 802.11n isn't that bad, after all.
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    I would like to have a wired connection for my Pro, but that's not possible because of where the router/modem are in relation to my Mac. So I went with wireless. Works for me.
     
  13. TJunkers thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TJunkers

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #13
    Yeah my computer is close to the router but not close enough to wire it and since i rent i cant run the cords through the walls... Right now I'm forced to have a cord going across the room haha.
     
  14. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    I have a 3 story house with only one incoming provider line. It's 120 megabits (no limits!) so I don't mind running wires. Every room except the kitchen has wired access. And the provider's own router has the WiFi in it for the laptops and such.

    Cheapy Cat-5e will carry 1000BASE-T over 100 meters (328 ft.) of cable without the need for signal conditioning or boosting.

    Put a power drawing heat producing WiFi card in my nice clean Mac Pro??? Never! :D
     
  15. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    Yup! Best! Cord going across the room! Awesome! Get a 20m cable and run it along the floor molding! :)
     
  16. techound1 macrumors 68000

    techound1

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    #16
    Oh, to live near civilization... :p
     
  17. miggitymac macrumors 6502a

    miggitymac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #17
    You live in Japan (according to another thread I saw) and have a 3 story home?!

    WHAT ARE YOU THE EMPEROR!!? :D
     
  18. ZunePod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #18
    His avvy suggests so.

    Anyway, nice with the Mac Pro, I wanna get one, one day, or maybe I'll just build a Hackint0sh.
     
  19. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #19
    Yeah, and all that plus 4 fixed IPs is only $50 a month. :) I think I get 10 GB of storage too but I dunno where it is nor how to use it. :p


    Hehehe, yeah, I've been here for over 20 years now. You gotta remember I came here during the bubble when people were throwing around $10,000 a month salaries on just about any whim that came over them. :)


    I think my next Mac will be a roll-your-own :apple: too. :cool:
     
  20. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #20
    Very good to hear.

    I'm still waiting on mine ship date is May 11th.
     
  21. dvince2 macrumors 6502

    dvince2

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
  22. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #22
    TJunkers, how you liking the new machine? Any pics yet?
     
  23. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #23
    Yeah, In Japan the fibre is always improving!
    Right now it's release at 120Mbits, I'd give it another 8 months before NTT will rise the bar yet further!! And what's more.. it's dirt cheap! I think I was lucky, cause NttKansai gave me six months free!!

    As for wiring, I'd agree.
    Wifi is *****, even with those Buffalo Routers. Sorry.

    But instead of Cat5e, I went with the flat Cat6 cables. They're fantastic!! Really low profile at only 1.4mm thick!! Perfect for squeezing between the Tatami boards, tucking under cracks and pinning to door frames... hehe.


    Just need to find a large apartment now!! Mines bloody tiny @ 12~15畳, I forget.
     
  24. TJunkers thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TJunkers

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
  25. Mintin8 macrumors 6502a

    Mintin8

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #25
    That is awesome! Nice Mac Pro :eek:
     

Share This Page