Just got the 27" i5. Impressions.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dwd3885, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #1
    So I must say, I went to the Apple Store West County today and was looking for a Magic Trackpad and left with a 27" Core i5 iMac! I was going to place an order online, but they had it in store. I'm only moving from last years Core 2 Duo 21.5" so I had owned that for less than a year and it was a great machine. I'm hoping to keep this one longer. :)

    Boy it's a great screen. The 27" is big. The quad core is just flying through things. Of course, all I'm doing now is transferring all my stuff but it is going great!

    Can't wait to put this thing through its paces. Anybody want me to run anything for them to see how it runs (speed, ie?)

    I'm ripping a dvd right now, I'll let you know the speed. Pirates 3, from disc to mp4 file in handbrake.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  3. TennisandMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #3
    Ok...I know this is maybe not what everyone wants to start talking about, but I had the last rev iMac. Two of them. Can you please see if there is any discoloration on the screen at all, at the bottom, or has Apple sorted this out? I wouldn't mind getting another iMac IF they are fixed in this respect.
     
  4. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #4
    Could u install bootcamp and download gpu-z then post those screens. Also test som hamre maybe. Im really wondering the speed of the gpu
     
  5. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #5
    I can't really tell. Looks white to me.

    http://yfrog.com/6l1280274075971j
     
  6. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #6
    i would love to but i don't have a copy of Windows 7!
     
  7. TennisandMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #7
  8. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #8
    Np :)

    i envy you right noe. Atleast a week og waiting for me:) enjoy it!
     
  9. jicka macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #9
    I returned 2 last month for yellowing and the gray band across the bottom. This new one is waaaay better but I think i notice a little yellow on the very bottom left corner and maybe slight gray banding above the dock. Either way it is 10 times better than the 2 that I got last month and it might just be me looking too hard trying to make my self see something. Hopefully they fixed most the problems
     
  10. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #10
    that's part of the reason why i waited for the newer model. i figured they would fix most of the problems. you know, with apple first gen stuff.
     
  11. JtheLemur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    #11
  12. dwarnecke11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #12
    Could you do this for us: adjust the brightness from min to max and listen for any high-pitched sounds from the screen. Also, is the HD quiet or does it make a grumbling sound when accessing data?
     
  13. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #13
    there is no high pitched sound. and i know what you're talking about because my 2009 imac did it. HD is really quiet now. I'm copying over all my files from an external firewire drive and can only hear the external.
     
  14. Hexero macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #14
    Could you install bootcamp with a trial of Windows 7, then? :D
     
  15. dwarnecke11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #15
    That's fantastic! Thanks! I had the '09 i5 and it had the grumbly Seagate (and yellowing, and flickering). I didn't notice any whine with it but I've heard many reports of it on others. Feeling more confident now.
     
  16. easepease macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    I also just set up my i5. I ran a geekbench and scored a 6712, which was lower than the old i7 they had on there.... oh well. As far as bootcamp goes I may get to that tonight probably tomorrow though. I have a copy of professional 64 bit windows 7 so we will see how it runs.

    As far as the noise from brightness? I hear nothing... my whole imac is SILENT... except when i stress the harddrive I hear it spin but no clicking or anything, the noise is less than any computer I have ever had.

    If there are any other things people want checked ask... and just so you know the screen is PERFECT.... I looked long and hard all over trying to find imperfections... and I found a speck of dust so I grabbed my cleaning cloth and made quick work of it!!!

    Lastly what are peoples opinions over the old i7 and the new i5??? Would it be better to get refurb i7 for most over this new i5??? For me I got student discount and a free touch which i then sold for $250... so it was worth to get new over refurb, but for others it seems the old i7 is better bang for buck...

    what do you think?

    oh yea and all the components are the same... seagate drive, optiarc drive, etc... as the last model, except for the new graphics
     
  17. tigereat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #17

    I will buy the 128GB version of those instead, which costs only $286.(dont know why the 256GB one costs almost three times more ) along with 1TB in my new iMac.

    This should be the much better idea

    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Techn...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1280278681&sr=8-1
     
  18. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #18
  19. lilcosco08 macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
  20. prne10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #20
    Someone please answer this. Also, is there no gpu-z app for mac?
     
  21. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #21
    Seriously, I cant believe Mac ninjas haven't already posted this info. Hoping for desktop gpu.
     
  22. cpnotebook80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
  23. lilcosco08 macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
  24. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
    I'm assuming by quad-core you're meaning the i5 @ 2.8GHz, not the dual core with HT @ 3.6GHz. Did you get the 5670 512MB or the 5750 1GB with this machine?
    Are you going to install Windows 7 on it? If so, GPU-Z should tell you if the GPU is a mobile or desktop GPU.
     
  25. lilcosco08 macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
    #25
    OP doesn't have win 7
     

Share This Page