iPod touch just help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by clark1992, Feb 20, 2014.

1. clark1992 macrumors newbie

Hi im just new to apple devices and iOS stuffs

i got an ipod touch 4g from a friend and its jailbreak iOS 4.2.1 i dont know if its jailbreak everytime i click cydia it just open and do nothing and close

just a bit of research the good for this one is iOS 4.3.3 can i update onto that one?
    sry im just a newbie here

2. BrettApple macrumors 65816

BrettApple

iOS 4.2.1 is actually a great version for the 4th gen. I run it on mine personally, but I don't use many apps at all. Mostly for music.

4.3.3 is also good as it opens it up to newer apps and safari is improved, though it has a little less free ram.

Anyway, you can go to 4.3.3, but ONLY if you have SHSH blobs for it. Such as if it was on it at one point or jail broken on it you may be in luck. Most likely though, the previous owner never went beyond 4.2.1. In that case the only place you can go is to 6.1.5. Or save the SHSH using tiny umbrella (probably from cydia's server) and restore 4.2.1 to get it working properly.

For instance, I've jail broken and saved almost every version of iOS I've been on. So I have SHSH blobs for 4.2.1, 4.3.3, 5.0.1, 6.1 etc. so I can freely switch between them. But I'm in the minority.

Another thought is that cydia's is just messed up and you might be able to fix it by rerunning the jail break tool. I think it was greenp0ison or something for 4.2. It's been a while.

3. clark1992 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for the fast and clear reply anyways i just called my friend about it and it has no shsh thingy anyway should i stick to 4.2.1 im not an app addict though i play a little on it it has some games installed but mostly i do listen to music okay then let me just do a more research about planning my next move going to iOS 6.1.5 to decide what to do and should i benefit more on it

----------