Just installed HD in Mac Pro and it doesn't work

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mikewebberross, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. mikewebberross macrumors newbie

    mikewebberross

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Hello, I just installed a 500GB SATA 6Gbs Hard Drive in bay 2 of my Early 2008 Mac Pro. When I go to disk utility, I can see that the computer reads the drive, it knows it is there. But it doesn't come up anywhere in my finder. It would be impossible at this point to drop anything into it or to turn it into my back up HD through time machine, which is ultimately what I'd like to do. Any ideas as to why this is happening?

    Mike
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Where did the drive come from?

    Is it brand new? Or is it from another computer?

    If it's brand new, did you initialize it yet? (Using Disk Utility)
     
  3. mikewebberross thread starter macrumors newbie

    mikewebberross

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Just bought it new from best buy. I do not believe I initialized it yet, how do I do that?
     
  4. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    When you have disk utility open, click Help-Disk Utility Help, then click on "Partitioning a disk". It provides step-by-step instructions.
     

Share This Page