Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

perfectshadows

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 3, 2010
England
Hi all,

Just installed my OCZ vertex 2E 240GB drive

Installation was pretty easy to be honest and I'm a novice with laptops.

did a clean install had to partition drive first then install OSX
after doing all that I did a migration from time machine.

Something odd it booted up and my facetime app wouldnt work, got the error message that OSX was to old a version for it to work..

found it had 10.6.3 on it, thought it was odd as I did an install from the disc and my system came with 10.6.4.

so I did all the updates from software update up to 10.6.5 and now everything seems perfectly fine and lightening fast :D

Thanks all

Just wanted to share my experience.

perfectshadows

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 3, 2010
England
Just did a boot up textfrom power button to useable:

HDD 7200rpm was:
1. 35.2 Sec
2. 31 Sec

SSD
1. 22 Sec
2. 21 Sec

saved 10 second sin boot time.

Applications booting up has really made the diffenence.
Just click the icon and its up and running.

Does anyone have any Tweaks to make it respond even faster?

thanks all

phillydogg28

macrumors newbie
Sep 8, 2010
Where did you buy it from? how much did you pay?

I am looking to upgrade my 500 gb hard drive to something around 250 gb ssd because i am getting a drobo to hold my music on the network.

can you live with 250 gb of hard drive space?

applefanDrew

macrumors 65816
Jul 17, 2010
Hi all,

Just installed my OCZ vertex 2E 240GB drive

Installation was pretty easy to be honest and I'm a novice with laptops.

did a clean install had to partition drive first then install OSX
after doing all that I did a migration from time machine.

Something odd it booted up and my facetime app wouldnt work, got the error message that OSX was to old a version for it to work..