Just installed RAM in 2019 and 2010 iMac, Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by aman88, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. aman88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    #1
    The 2019 27 inch seems to be working great... when I go under "about this mac" and view memory, the top two rectangles show the ram I put in (two 8 gb sticks) and the bottom two rectangles show the ram it came with (two 4 gb sticks). I read on here that that was correct installation pattern?

    The 2010 had more troubles... I took out the old ram (two 2 gb sticks), and put the new and old ram back in so it would have the same pattern as the 2019 iMac. At first when I would turn it on it would just beep three times every five seconds... but once I took the ram out and reinserted it a couple of times it has started up fine every time (2-3) starts...

    Question is: should I worry, or does this mean whatever issue it was having, it os working now?

    Any input is good input... thanks!

    Oh all new ram is OWC for both computers?
     
  2. aman88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
  3. Rapidisimo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    #3
    You probably installed it incorrectly the first time. Aka it didn't snap in all the way. Ram only fits in one way and it needs to snap in on both ends.
    If there's no ram or it's improperly install computers start giving beep codes.
    Since it works now all should be fine.
     
  4. aman88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
  5. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #5
    A 2010 is installed side by side. I went through that a couple of weeks ago—had completely forgotten this.
     
  6. aman88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    #6
    What do you mean? I know with the 2019 I got them in there and it did not matter, in fact I went and reinstalled them so the 8bgs would be on top and the 4gbs on the bottom when you got to about this mac and memory. For the 2010 I did not know there was a certain install pattern?
     
  7. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #7
    Now you know. One matched pair on the left; the other pair on the right. It doesn’t matter which goes where.

    Otherwise, you get the 3 repeating beeps that tell you the iMac can’t access RAM.
     
  8. aman88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    #8
    Weird... so if the about this Mac section and under memory it shows the two 4gb on top left and right, then the two 2gb on the bottom left and right that’s correct?
     
  9. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #9
    Yes, I know.

    For a 2010 27", That's wrong!

    Really.
     
  10. aman88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    #10
    It’s a 21.5 inch 2010... i3 3.2 ghz, etc.
     

Share This Page

9 July 11, 2019