Just moved and now "Mail" won't connect.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JBradley500, Dec 16, 2009.

1. JBradley500 macrumors newbie

I cannot get mail to connect and im not very good with the terminology with SSL and stuff like that so ill just post pictures of what im doing and what im getting. Before the error was saying port 995 but today its different.

2. Eric S. macrumors 68040

Eric S.

Are you able to connect to other internet sites, e.g., with a web browser?

What happens if you open a terminal window and enter "ping imap.gmail.com" or "traceroute imap.gmail.com"?

3. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

MooneyFlyer

It looks like your user name is in the authentication section for the SMTP server but the checkbox isn't checked. I'm pretty sure you will need that for the outgoing...

For the incoming (under advanced) you will see port 993, then "Use SSL" should be checked. Under that should be Authentication: Password

PS - you might consider blocking your email address from the pics above...

4. JBradley500 thread starter macrumors newbie

i can use everything else without problems. nothing on my computer has changed. i just moved to a new place out of state and not the mail wont connect.

traceroute imap.gmail.com
    64 bytes from 74.125.95.109: icmp_seq=33 ttl=244 time=35.735 ms

PING gmail-imap.l.google.com (74.125.95.109): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 74.125.95.109: icmp_seq=0 ttl=244 time=45.719 ms

5. JBradley500 thread starter macrumors newbie

i figured i would have to remove the email name lol.

[​IMG]

6. JBradley500 thread starter macrumors newbie

oh yeah i was going to say i can check my mail in Safari.

7. Mumford macrumors regular

What happens if you bring up a terminal window & type telnet imap.gmail.com 993?

8. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

MooneyFlyer