Just ordered a mac pro what you think you specs for me?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Maugustyn, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. Maugustyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #1
    Hey i was between this and a macbook pro for ever it seems and today i picked the mac pro tell me what you think. I will be using final cut andalways have safari, itunes and ichat and so one open. most likely handlebar( or w/e it is called) as well.

    One 16x SuperDrive
    320GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    2GB (2 x 1GB)
    Apple Keyboard (English) + Mac OS X
    Accessory kit
    Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8-core)
    Apple Mighty Mouse
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB (Two dual-link DVI)

    and also a 24" dell (i hate to buy dell but need to cut a few bucks off)

    i will be ordering in a few hours so any last second advice's would be great
     
  2. thegord macrumors member

    thegord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #2
    same specs on the one i just ordered. caint wait for it to get here. i added the wifi card, i hate snaking a new ethernet cable.
     
  3. Maugustyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #3
    yea im getting exited. i think i might add wifi but i have a ethernet cord run already
     
  4. barijazz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #4
    Sweet set up but does the wired might mouse have a second click?
     
  5. cydspal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #5
    Will you buy more Ram elsewhere? I have posted a few questions about this topic for a new Mac Pro two 2.8 quad core but I remain a bit confused as far as which size to get and if I should leave the orginal 2 1gb sticks in. Congrats on your purchase!
     
  6. Maugustyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #6
    i will by RAM for OWC probibly and the mouse does have 2 clicks but i might jsut use my wireless usb Kensington mouse
     
  7. bamaworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #7
    Bahaha

    Trust me, you will be PERFECTLY fine running those programs :) I run those on my 1.8Ghz + 2GB Ram iMac fine 90% of the time with no hiccups.
     
  8. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #8
    That's the same spec I will be buying in June but with the 2nd Superdrive and the Aiport Extreme Card. Can't wait :D
     
  9. conancn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    #9
    solid 7, avoid all cost for dell for MP.

    A standard MP would rate 8, but dell display for MP? -1;)
     
  10. conancn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    #10
    You can get any "superdrive" from anywhere for 30 bucks, why pay 100? They're all compatible.:confused:
     
  11. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    I have a spare DVDRW from my PC that I intended to use but I couldn't get a straight answer from Apple as to whether or not the Mac Pro would still have the space at the front for a 2nd superdrive if I only ordered it with one.

    Clarification would be great :)
     
  12. MLeepson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Even though it feels like you're clicking one button, the mouse (wired and wireless) it has a sensors that detects where you fingers are (right and left click). If I recall correctly, you can change the settings for each finger, the scrollball, and the side buttons.
     
  13. mojopixel macrumors 6502

    mojopixel

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere in Time
    #13
    what's wrong with Dell displays?
     
  14. Maugustyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #14
    yea why pay 600 fora a 20 ACD when you oculd get 2 24" dells for 700?
     
  15. lauriechelt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    The UK
    #15
    Exactly right ;)
     
  16. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #16
    dont get a dell monitor unless yougo for a good one. they generally suck...


    E= Econmony :)

    i suggest you get samsung or LG, LG make dell's screens anyway
     
  17. Maugustyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #17
    From what i have read on this site dell monitors are good what do you think would be better?
     

Share This Page