Just ordered a Macbook Pro, needs some advice now :-)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bokser, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. Bokser Guest

    #1
    Hi guys!

    I have been reading the MacRumours forums for a long time and have learnt that my next computer should be a Mac.
    Now that summer promotion came, I finally decided that today was the right time to order it!

    So I have just ordered:
    Macbook Pro 15'',
    2.5GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    Hard Drive 250GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    Optical Drive SuperDrive 8x DL
    Apple Remote

    The shipping dates are estimated:
    Ships by:13 Jun - 17 Jun
    Delivers by:17 Jun - 24 Jun (I chose the expedited shipping)

    As you can see I went with the mid-level base model, without modifying Hard Drive to 7200rpm, or CPU to 2.6GHz (altough I wanted to :), but decided first of all I will get my laptop faster if its not OTB and the hardrive can be replaced later, when 500Gb become available)

    After placing an order on Apple.ca, I went to OWC and got 2x2GB memory sticks, decided to go with low latency, just for pure satisfaction :)

    Now, while I am waiting, I have a question to many of you who have much more experience in this issue:

    1. I will be connecting the MBP to external monitor when at home, and I would like to buy bluetooth Mouse and keyboard set for Mac. I heard that there are better alternatives other than the mighty mouse and keyboard. I would like to be able to right click on the mouse, and have a decent keyboard. Any reccomendations?

    2. I have never worked in OS X before, but I read alot about it :D, should I install bootcamp straight out of the box, or do it later? I want to be able to run windows xp on it...

    3. Will VM Ware be able to emulate such demaning software as Photoshop, Fritz (chess program) while still being in OS X?

    Thanks a lot!!! Now I can put this icon ...soon..:apple:
     
  2. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    Congratulations.

    1) Logitech has a huge selection, not sure how many BT options for the wireless, but check them out.

    2) You can do it at any time, but why not now before you load up any files that you are worried about losing?

    3) While it should be able to do it, you will be losing a lot of performance. Is there a reason you won't use at least a native version of Photoshop?
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    I have a MX Revolution and a Das Keyboard II... both are expensive, but one of the best; I have a VX Revolution for on the go; of course the best keyboard is a Unicomp Model M with a buckling springs.

    The Bootcamp Utility comes with instructions; just read it before you install.

    Yes... except there is native Photoshop for OS X, so I see no reason to run it in VMware.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    unless you already own the windows version ;)

    welcome to the mac platform!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Well Adobe let me swap my Adobe software from the Windows version to a OS X version for $10 for the Mac discs. It's called a "crossgrade". Just call them to swap.
     
  6. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #6
    Thanks everyone for the responses!

    It is helpful to know that Adobe's license can be transferred.

    Now, I have some updates:

    OWC's package arriver super fast, the next day (!) and everything is great, except I had to pay duty tax :(

    Apple has also updated the status of my order, it says:

    It seems strange that my Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz (base model with no modifications) ships from Shanghai. I thought only custom built models are shipping from there?

    Now I only have to wait :apple:
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Well if they are out of stock to ship they will ship it from the factory in Shanghai.
     
  8. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #8
    alphaod

    Thanks very much for your responses!

    I have an update, my parcel is in Alaska now :)


    Code:
     
    Jun 16, 2008   
    
    4:03 PM 
      
     Departed FedEx location    
      
     ANCHORAGE, AK  
      
        
     9:52 PM 
      
     In transit    
      
     SHANGHAI CN  
    It says the delivery date is June 18th, before 18:00. Cannot wait :p

    Do you guys think it will be a noticable jump in performance, coming from
    a 1.866 Ghz Core Duo, 1GB Ram, GeForce 6800 (HP Laptop)?

    Thank you, this forum helps me through the wait :D
     
  9. TheCookie macrumors regular

    TheCookie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    It may get here sooner

    Mine said it would show up June 18th before 10:30 AM, and I had it yesterday (June 16th) at 3:30 PM.
     
  10. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #10
     
  11. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #11
    i have the logitech VX Revolution, its one of the best laser mouses or just get a razer/keyboard
     
  12. TheCookie macrumors regular

    TheCookie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    Are you sure that's true? Mine went from Shanghai to AK to Memphis to me... no Canadian stops.
     
  13. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
  14. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #14
    Definitely. Especially if you came from Vista...
     
  15. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #15
    Osarkon
    The least a windows user can do is switch to XP (thats what I did), no Vista in my house :)

    SchneiderMan
    Thanks, I have noticed there are 2 types of the VX mouse, "nano" with a tiny transmitter and 'Revolution', which one do you think I should go with?

    snberk103
    I indeed plan to install VMWare, and this is one of the reasons why I got 4GB from OWC, and if the performance is not satisfactory, I can always install XP in Bootcamp, right?
    I try not to get too excited, but today I have another update:

    Code:
    Jun 17, 2008  	 
    
    4:01 AM 	
    		
    Departed FedEx location   	
    		
    MEMPHIS, TN  	
    		
    	  	
    
    12:38 AM 	
    		
    Arrived at FedEx location   	
    		
    MEMPHIS, TN  	
    
    I think this means now it is going to the distribution centre in my city :confused: :)

    I have already browsed several topics on 'things first do with a mac', so I am feeling ready :) Just waiting for it!
     
  16. bart rijksen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #16
    The wait is the best part! so enjoy.
     
  17. viggen61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #17
    1) Personally, I like the Mighty Mouse. I have far fewer issues with it than I have had with others. The only BT keyboard Apple sells now does NOT have a separate number pad. THat was a deal-breaker for me. I went onto eBay and scared up an older Apple BT keyboard, brand new for about $25. Got both the wireless MM and keybaord working with my MBP.

    2) If you want to run WIN XP, I would install Boot Camp straight away. The biggest thing you do is partition your HD and you're better off doing that FIRST rather than later. Both Paralells and VM Ware can use the Boot Camp partition to run Windows inside OS X. I have mine set up that way, and it works great. I can boot into Windows if I need to, or just open a window when that's more convenient.

    3) Yes, but as others said, you're better off either booting to Windows or getting the cross-grade.


    Enjoy!

    :apple::apple:
     
  18. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #18
    Hi guys!!

    I am typing it from Macbook Pro :)) It is sooo different!!:apple:

    1) After installing bootcamp, the drive is called "untitled", can I change it to something like "windows xp" or ...?

    2) How do I turn off the automatic lighting sensor, it changes brightness intermittently.

    3) The font in Safari, especially bold words, look a little smeared, the font clearing settings are set for "Automatic"

    4) The laptop stands on my wooden desk, it gets warm :) I was thinking about buying a stand for it with/without fans for additional cooling and leverage. I connect it to external monitor, which "mount" or "stand" would you recommend?

    Thank you! :cool:
     
  19. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
  20. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #20
    Get the Vx Revolotion!

    [​IMG]

    the one on the left.. its great for everything! gaming and more
     
  21. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #21
    Thank you!
    I am installing Office 2008 now :)

    I still haven't figured out those questions..and now I have one more thing ->
    I have bought the VX Revolution mouse, really like its shape and like the behaviour of it i win XP, but in Mac OS X it feels sluggish, and not so precise. I did not install any additional drivers , it recognized it itself. Do you VX mouse users have an advice on what speed settings for the mouse are optimal?

    Thanks again!

    I guess I should update my signature, finally!!! :):apple:
     
  22. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #22
    did it say its for mac too? did you insall the cd that came with it?
    it has all the options and all that after you install it

    EDIT: here this is the logitech vx support page for leopard
    http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com...TY2OSZwX2N2PSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=&p_topview=1
     
  23. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    Have the same 2 mice for mine, except my problem with the MX is the rubber grip skin is peeling off.

    Get the drivers; I know it's plug and play, but nonetheless: http://tinyurl.com/4hwdtd
     
  24. Bokser thread starter Guest

    #24
    Thank you so much!

    I am full of questions still :)

    Is there a fast and convenient way to "Show Desktop" , like it was in Windows?
     
  25. KC2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #25
    Try F11.

    Edit: Sorry, I just now realized my mistake (days later). That should be Fn+F11, not F11 itself.
     

Share This Page