Just ordered my new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by torrid30, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. torrid30 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Finally made the switch over to Mac after being out of a computer all summer.

    24 inch iMac
    2.8 C2E
    1GB RAM (Will upgrade very soon)((By the way do the iMacs use 200 or 220 pin sticks? Because I have 2 GB of 200pin but I don't know if it will work))
    500 GB HDD
    Wireless Mighty Mouse
    Wired Keyboard (Figured I'd get the maximum amount of USB ports 3back + 2keyboard - 1for keyboard = 4USB because I don't think the wireless has any USB??)

    Plus Black 80GB with the Student Discount

    I can't wait. Plus I get Leopard for $65.00 through my school.

    Whoop Whoop!!!

    Torrid
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Congratulations mate. It's your first Mac by the sounds of things, but is it the first Mac you've used? :)
     
  3. torrid30 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Thanks a lot!

    No it's not. I used a Mac my freshman year in high school, coming up to more than 6 years ago in a Graphics Class. As well as some of my friends have Macs that I dabble on. I'm a quick learner and only little things will take awhile for me to get used to. I.E. clicking "Close Window" (Red button) will do just that, close the window, not close the entire program. And so I'd have to go to the Finder Bar and choose close out of that. Just little things like that.

    The big thing I need to do is transfer all my files over, but once that is done, it'll be a glorious glorious thing to behold.

    Could anyone tell me if iMacs use 200 or 220 pin RAM? I know they use laptop parts which makes me think 200, but I thought I saw somewhere that they were 220 (or is it 240? I always get confused). If it was 200, that would be great as I have a 2gigs from my now dead laptop that would make a wonderful addition to my new Mac.

    Hi-HO!!

    Torrid
     
  4. kman34 macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    This might be a stupid question, but...

    Is it important to upgrade your RAM to 2GB? This is my 1st mac and I just want to make sure things run smoothly!
     
  5. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #5
    I'd say 2GB should be pretty much standard nowadays. Just don't upgrade with Apple... get some compatible memory from a third party to save a lot of money.
     
  6. torrid30 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    From looking at the thread "How to buy Aftermarket RAM for new iMac" which is located here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=339311

    It looked like iMacs do use 200pin!! That means I can use my old RAM right? Or does the speed from those sticks have to match with the speeds my computer can handle? That would be awesome if I could use those 2GB right now and then down the road buy 4GB which would more than likely be much cheaper.
     
  7. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #7
    If it's PC2-5300 or PC2-6400 SODIMM you should be fine.
     
  8. torrid30 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Alright thanks a lot. Only a week (or a little longer) to wait now.
     

Share This Page