Just ordered new rMBP - few questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by slo-climber, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. slo-climber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #1
    I have just ordered 15'' rMBP 2.6 GHz, 16 GB, 512 GB SSD with NVIDIA GT 750M.
    My main purpose is photo editing in Photoshop and Lightroom.

    My current PC from 2008 is EXTREMELY slow in these two programs. It's lagging whenever I move some sliders. Its specs are: Intel core 2 duo 2.26 GHz, 3 GB RAM, hard drive with 5200 RPM, 32-bit operating system

    Should I expect a big improvement with new rMBP? Hopefully yes. :)

    I believe that someone here is using rMBP for photo editing and can tell how much it is lagging.

    And 1 more question: Do I have to pay attention on the potential errors with display? Like image retention and yellow tint.

    Thanks
     
  2. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #2
    I would say you will see a huge improvement! dual core to quad core, HDD to SSD, 3GB RAM to 16GB. Your new mac will purrrrrr

    Since you have the NVIDEA GT 750M, this must be a 2012 model, which are prone to the IR problems. If it is refurbished, it wont be a problem because Apple checks that, but there is a way to find out.

    Here is how to determine if its LG or Samsung: (the 1st gen LG's had the major IR issue)
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/21863183#21863183

    As for a test:
    Marco.org has an IR test. Essentially its a checkerboard. Leave it on the screen for 10-15 minutes without changing the page or letting the computer go to sleep, then after that time frame click the 'switch to grey' link. If you still see the checkerboard, you have an IR issue. If you dont, your screen is good.
    Link: http://www.marco.org/rmbp-irtest.html
     
  3. slo-climber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #3
    Thanks.

    No, its "late" 2013 model. The graphics is NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M with 2GB.
     
  4. stevemiller macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #4
    i just got the exact same model. I've previously had the late 2008 2.8ghz model, with the 2011 model in between. the 2011 quad core alone blew me away in terms of performance, so jumping straight to the current model should really be an amazing leap!

    I have the samsung screen and it's a little on the warm side, but I went into the calibration settings and raised the colour temperature and it feels pretty reasonable now. and its more than made up for by the crispness and reduced glare.

    enjoy it!
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    Nope, his is a late-2013 model. Mid-2012 and early-2013 models use 1GB GT650M, while late-2013 models use 2GB GT750M.
     
  6. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #6
    My mistake, yeah the screen should be fine with those models
     
  7. sixrom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #7
    Your new Mac will be very fast smooth and stable. There's nothing to watch for, just use it and enjoy :)
     
  8. msavwah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oahu
    #8
    It appears to also use system memory as well for a total of 4GB. Maybe I'm thinking of when I'm running Win7?
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    It'll only use system memory of up to 1024MB when on Iris Pro. When using the discrete 2GB GT750M, it won't use any system memory at all.
     
  10. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    That limit has been raised to 1.5 GB in the 10.9.3 builds. Hopefully, it'll out of Beta and released soon to the general public :)
     
  11. joeytp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #11
    What a great choise! I think you'll be blowned by the speed of your new rMBP :D I have the same model with 2.3 ghz and it work perfectly :apple:

    Have fun :)
     
  12. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    I've the 2.6GHz variant with 1TB SSD and it absolutely flies :)
     
  13. joeytp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #13
    HA HA HA Like your bio... HDD are as fast as and 6 speeds bicicle:eek:
     
  14. slo-climber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    #14
    Thanks for all replies.

    One more question. Is possible that "late 2013" rMBP will come with previous OS (Mountain Lion)? Or are they all with Mavericks?
     
  15. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #15
    They now come with Mavericks. At least the one I received last month did.
     
  16. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    Doesn't matter... Mavericks is a free upgrade!...

    However, at this point...I'd say most should come with Mavericks installed.
     
  17. Stevi macrumors member

    Stevi

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Whiteshell Provincial Park, Mb, Canada
    #17
    Mine, that arrived last week had Mavericks installed.
     
  18. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #18
    Since that machine came out after the official release of Mavericks, it wouldn't come with any prior OS preinstalled.
     
  19. msavwah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oahu
    #19
    Hey this is what I was thinking of.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #20
    Most modern GPUs are set up to use system RAM if needed, which is why you see 4GB listed there. However, the only situation they would use it in would be with software that treats the GPU as a normal processor (i.e. is using CUDA). Also, the GPU doesn't allocate that block of RAM and wall it off from other apps (something discrete graphics always does), so that RAM is still available to other applications.
     
  21. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #21
    This is in Windows so it's a different story.
     
  22. msavwah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Oahu
    #22
    Yes, thx guys.
     
  23. tmoerel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #23
    It won't even run an older OS. Mavericks is the lowest version which will run on it. Older version lack drivers for the rMBP late 2013!
     
  24. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  25. SimeoneSergio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Location:
    London UK
    #25
    It will be a lot faster, and you'll feel you don't need anything else.

    Regarding errors: i don't you'll experience any.

    The only drawback i can see is using a wacom tablet: for some reasons it might happen to you to experience some "lag" when scrolling/panning the image or using some tools (like the polygonal lass).

    Other than this enjoy your new lil' monster!
     

Share This Page