Just Ordered the 24" LED Cinema Display for MB Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Young Turk, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. Young Turk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    #1
    Just ordered the 24" LED Cinema Display for the MacBook Air (1.86/SSD). I already have a 20" Aluminum iMac as my main desktop computer, and the Air is my secondary Mac. I need the 24" display and dual monitor for setting up my courtroom presentations (I am a trial lawyer). With this latest purchase, I have the entire MacBook Air suite:

    MacBook Air 1.86/SSD (no lines);
    Extra power adapter
    2 SuperDrives
    Ethernet/USB adapter (still in the bag)

    I'll review as soon as the LED arrives.

    YoungTurk
     
  2. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #2
    Let us know how it goes, it is expensive but if it is worth it then great.
     
  3. Sir Cecil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #3
    It's a terrific monitor. I'm using it with my MBP and have absolutely no complaints. Beautiful screen and immaculate finish. You'll love it, I'm sure.
     
  4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #4
    I also have the 1.86 GHz MBA with SSD, but I use it as my primary computer. I also use the 24" LED ACD. Together, the two are just like a desktop computer. The display is STUNNING. I cannot believe how well the MBA works and the beautiful display is driven by just the tiny little MBA. The new MBA is the ultimate in portability and yet amazingly powerful all in one. I just love how it seems like a docking station with the new ACD and the cables all there for the MBA.

    I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy mine. You may soon find that your rev B MBA could be your primary computer while attached to the 24" LED ACD.

    Congratulations.
     
  5. Young Turk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    #5
    Scottsdale - looking at your Air, is the 24" to its right or to its left? Any cable clutter (which I hate)?

    YoungTurk
     
  6. Macintox macrumors member

    Macintox

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #6
    Can you run the 24" screen with the MBair closed ?
     
  7. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #7
    I know a 23" BenQ runs just fine with the MB Air closed so why not the 24"?
     
  8. DAMAC3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN
    #8
    I have a 22" display at home, and I have been meaning to hook my MBA up to it. I need to get the minidisplay->DVI adapter for it. Here are a few questions I have regarding using an external display:

    1. Do you guys use a wireless keyboard and mouse with your Air and the external display, or do you use the MBA keyboard and mousepad? Do you run the external display as a clone or second monitor?
    2. If I wanted to use my Air like a desktop, can I turn off sleep so I can close the Air and set it to the side if I am using an external display and a wireless keyboard/mouse combo?
    3. I have an HP 22" display that is 1920x1080 with built-in speakers, many great inputs (HDMI, DVI, VGA, SVideo, USB hub, 1/8in speaker jack). It has a nice picture. Would there be any advantages to selling it for an Apple display?

    I'm new to Mac. I've had plenty of experience doing this on a PC, but I wasn't sure how most people handle this on a Mac. Hope I'm not hijacking your thread, Turk, as I am trying to ask questions along the line of your topic.
     
  9. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #9
    Yes.
     
  10. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    As long as you either:

    a] Connect a wired keyboard and/or mouse to the 24" LED
    b] Connect a wireless/BT keyboard and/or mouse to the MBA before closing it

    Either of these overrides the sleep function, although there's a second or two delay before the monitor picks up the video.
     
  11. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #11
    I set my MBA just behind the left side of display. Two cables are on right of MBA, while unfortunately power is on left. I so wish were all together like new MB and MBPs. But cables don't look cluttered.

    I use an Apple Wireless Keyboard and a Logitech Bluetooth Mouse. The mouse is silver and matches almost perfectly but I wish was actual aluminum. It works so much better than a not so "Mighty Mouse." The setup looks really nice. I actually moved the USB stuff (like MBA DVD) to drawer of desk. I tried to make as clean as possible. I really wish my iPhone was aluminum so it (and the dock) were aluminum or at least silver.

    I really recommend using an external kb and mouse.

    Cheers.
     
  12. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #12
    I also use the Air and 24" LED Cinema Display with the lid closed + Apple BT Keyboard and Logitech VX Nano Mouse.

    When you wake the computer, does the screen flash up for a second, then go blue for a second and then return to a useful display? This happens to me and I'm interested to see if this happens to everybody else.

    I find it quite annoying as without the monitor, the Air wakes almost instantly.

    Also, the Air does get a bit hot in clamshell mode. You just have to happy with the fan blowing full speed because you're actually using the CPU that you paid extra for.

    You can do this, but you don't need to disable sleep. If you close the lid then plug in the monitor and click your mouse, it wakes up and the Air screen stays off.

    I think so. It's just so much nicer than other displays.
     
  13. DAMAC3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN
    #13

    Why did you buy an RF mouse instead of Bluetooth?
     
  14. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #14
    I want to use bluetooth, but I'm yet to find a four button bluetooth mouse (so I can use expose and dashboard). I've always been amazed that this doesn't exist because I hate using up my one USB port with the nano RF receiver.

    The only alternatives I've found only come as keyboard+mouse bundles:

    Cordless Desktop® MX™ 5500 Revolution
    diNovo™ Media Desktop® Laser

    This is a very expensive way to save a USB port as I'd be throwing away the keyboard.

    Prove me wrong...please!

    Oh and I used the BT mighty mouse for one painful year and I'm never going back to that.
     
  15. darrellishere macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #15
    I had mixed, but generally good results testing my hdd air, with the in-store ACD.

    I couldn't get lid closed mode to work.

    Although my Air did pretty well with Aperture, & Raw files, it couldn't

    match my 3.06ghz imac for speed and increased graphical power.

    but performance was similar as without the acd.

    Where I noticed the difference was when I tested spores, it played pretty well but without the rich graphics.

    HD movies played well too, but not as smooth as I'm used too on a 24"

    imac, agin I think its the slow HDD, or the relatively slow, 1.6 chip.

    I could imagine it being a much better all round experience with the SSD

    Man I bet that Air could replace a desktop, for many people as mentioned

    above!

    My Revision B, still feels like a little in-between, not quite perfect for a power
    user. I wish I had the SSD!
     
  16. DAMAC3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN
    #16

    I'm not worried about four buttons, but I have a couple BT options that I have been looking at.

    Rocketfish Apple Bluetooth Mouse
    Targus Mac Bluetooth Mouse

    Both look nice and have gotten decent reviews on Amazon. Have you tried either of these?
     
  17. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #17
    I've been switching off with the 40" & 32" Sony Bravia LCD and operating with the lid closed. It's nice to have the remote as well as wireless Apple Keyboard and the MS 5000 BT Mouse...:cool:
     
  18. hodgeheg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #18
    Request Please

    I've been trying to find this out, but the words involved are generic enough that it's tough to google for, and all I find is people telling me what I already know...

    Can you use the superdrive in the new 24" LED cinema display's USB port?

    As it stands there appears to be no hub in existence that can power it. I was hoping Apple might have worked this into the new display, but can't find anything to confirm or deny it definitely. You are in a position to solve this! I would be most grateful.

    I'm curious (may be none of my business...) why you have 2 superdrives? I'm hoping it's because you actually can plug more than one in.
     
  19. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #19
  20. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    Congrats! I would get the AppleCare for the display too. :D
     
  21. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #21
    The real question is why he went with a VX nano instead of a VX or MX revolution. There's no BT mouse out there that comes close.
     
  22. smoked macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #22
    So the ACD matches perfectly with the MBA? I ask because I'm thinking of ordering the ACD. I went to the Apple store to look at the connector, because I wanted to check out the connector cord.

    1. Can the connector cord reach both sides of the MBA, so you get the power and USB connections?

    2. Does the screen look exactly the same in terms of brightness/contrast? While searching here on the forums I've seen a couple of posts about external monitors having a slight difference between the monitor and laptop that makes it uncomfortable to have both open at the same time. (I have a pee-cee laptop with dual displays, and it is annoying there too.) When I was at the Apple store they had it hooked up to a computer and the screens on both looked horrible and mismatched.

    Unfortunately when the Apple store is open my wife won't let me take the MBA there, so I can't compare in person. (It's her work computer, and I only get to use it when she's asleep:()
     
  23. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #23

    You know, I have the SSD and my video is amazing on the 24" LED Display, but video also looks amazing and I watched some HD on a 30" ACD.

    I didn't think the SSD would have anything to do with that, but at the same time the original MBA had so many video problems that were attributed to the slow speed PATA drive, the overheated 65 NM CPU, and the poor graphics.

    So, maybe the SSD does provide faster read for HD video somehow resulting in the larger display video playback... don't really know though. I just tried it one time at a client's office because someone had asked me here on MR if my rev B MBA would really drive a 30" ACD playing HD video, and of course it did just fine.

    The other thing I would say, is that from the Mac Pro to the rev B MBA, the display looked EXACTLY the same. No video, performance, clarity or color differences were noted by trying a 15 minute video first on a Mac Pro then on a rev B MBA with 1.86 GHz and SSD... then playing both at same time (almost simultaneous for a few minutes)... with the Mini Display to dual link DVI cable (which computer user had and was using with his MBA). Also, there were six or seven of us at least watching both ways, and to everyone's amazement, the image/video/clarity/picture/color/and etc looked IDENTICAL watching both one after the other then watching two next to each other played by MP and MBA. I was amazed, but I fully expected it to work. The guy who had the Mac Pro with dual 30" displays (in this one office there are over 40 users and over 60 30" ACDs) and MBA Mini Display Port cable I was using said he had pretty much quit using his Mac Pro and was using his rev B SSD MBA MOST of the time. The only thing was certain files he was working on that is according to him "huge and massive" wouldn't work on any non-Mac Pro machine (no idea myself, but he's an aerospace engineer).

    Sorta odd to have a Mac Pro user prefer the rev B MBA with a 1.86 GHz C2D and SSD... rather than an Octacore Mac Pro with 32 GB RAM and etc. He definitely said it was just a phase, but he absolutely could not believe how fast the SSD had made his MBA (him and I used to discuss the poor performance of the original MBA we both were sick about the original and were amazed everything that Apple had changed). His was one of the line-free MBAs I used to test on before buying my rev B MBA.

    Amazingly, I have used seven MBAs and ALL SEVEN had SSD, while only one had a 1.6 GHz CPU. What are the odds? I used a 1.6 HDD in the store, and the apps opened slower and the boot difference was amazing for the SSD, but once they're on, and the apps being used, I didn't think much difference until need to open another file or app.

    But definitely interesting and possible that an HDD would possibly have problem feeding an HD video??? Again, I really don't know if that is true or something else...

    I would say for those using the MBA as a primary Mac or as a business computer or for anything intensive, the SSD is worthy of the extra $500. But if not asking much of the rev B, an HDD would work for most.

    The truth is I don't do much video, but when I do it always works really nicely.
     
  24. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #24
    Yep.

    This is quite subjective. I'd say they are close but the 24" LED display is brighter, though this can be adjusted.

    The Air is amazing with the SSD and a dog with the hard drive. I'm not the first to say that I wouldn't touch the HDD Air with a ten-foot pole.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #25

    Yes, the cables all reach. I really wish they were all on same side. This is why the cables are separated so far from the end on the ACD, as they need to reach both sides of the MBA. Look at the ACD cable to see what I mean, it is three cables that are together except for a foot away from the end which allows it to reach both sides.

    No, the 24" LED Backlit Apple Cinema Display is the most beautiful display I have ever owned. It is absolutely amazing, stunning, incredible or any other great word you want to add in. I will say that the color and clarity on my MBA is amazing, and my MBA is line-free, but the MBA display is NOT the same quality as the 24" LED Apple Cinema Display. The two are different. The ACD must be a lot heavier and thicker or whatever, but you can tell it is nicer than the laptop display. The ACD is much higher quality, clarity, color, and resolution, and is the nicest desktop display I have ever owned, while the MBA is the nicest laptop display I have ever owned.

    Apple has done a great job with the new notebooks and the 24" LED ACD. The setup together is just perfect to make an instant desktop out of the Mac notebooks.

    I think the new 24" LED ACD is much nicer to look at and view video on than the matte 30" ACD. I think the 30" is beautiful but really big. If you normally use a 20" widescreen desktop and a 15" laptop display, like I did, moving to the 24" LED ACD is absolutely HUGE. It is big enough, and to me it is a much better value to have the webcam and speakers built in, and USB ports. They really made it perfect for a Mac notebook just like a docking station.
     

Share This Page