Just overclocked my mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by OrangeSVTguy, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    Well I was reading another post and someone posted a link to overclock the mini. I've done it before on G4 towers so I already have experience with this.

    One problem, I "soldered" the 2 open jumpers so I could overclock to 1.58ghz. Well I got the "bong" sound but would not boot(NO HDD activity) or no video. So I just removed that solder and just desoldered the 2 resisters so now I have an overclocked Mini G4 @ 1.5ghz. It was originally a 1.42.

    I heard there was a 5th jumper(R52) that you can remove to bring it up to 1.67ghz but I can't seem to find it. I don't think I really want to go to 1.83 as I'm not too sure how much the extra heat would do.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2

    Attached Files:

  3. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    All better now :D

    Now it's time to put it all back together.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
  5. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #5
    Awesome, I didn't know that's how you overclocked things.
     
  6. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #6
    I always thought overclocking had to do with BIOS changes and stuff, I didn't know you had to tamper with the hardware. Cool stuff though.
     
  7. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
  8. Theophany macrumors 6502

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #8
    Macs don't use BIOS, so this is how real men overclock. Naturally, I haven't the guts to do that to my Macs :D

    Mega-kudos to the OP, that's some impressive stuff. :)
     
  9. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    Thanks this is just really easy because it's the guys that did this in the first place years ago. They are the ones that did all the R&D and probably bricked quite a few Mini's in the process. Kudos to them ;) but thanks anyways.


    Yeah the 1.58ghz overclock is running very nice and stable! It hasn't crashed or lockup up with anything. I've let it run all night encoding video :D. I haven't really noticed any significant gains in temperature but iStat did read that the HDD was at 120*F, never tried a before dangit lol. Too bad that's the only temp sensor and I don't even know how reliable that is. Also iStat doesn't even display a fan speed either :p.

    Only problem is that (and it's already been stated) that running x-bench will cause it to freeze. I may just go back to 1.5ghz.
     
  10. spacecadet610 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    #10
    i'd be scared to do it. is it really worth it?
     
  11. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #11
    Not really. The difference is there but in the end its still only 10%. Video playback will be where it makes the biggest difference.
     
  12. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #12

    I don't know for some people but for myself, I like taking electronics apart and then modifying them in which ever way I can. So to me, it's well worth it.
     
  13. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #13
    wanted to add that i have done this also for years with the g4 mini and emac g4 systems. both the mini 1.25 and 1.42 systems can move to 1.5 with no problems. i've had a few that would run stable at 1.58, but if you want a 100% solid system, run at 1.5 and never have a problem. several of my sytems were used for folding (24x7, 100% cpu load) for years with no problems, totally stable.

    good stuff, always love a free upgrade! :apple:
     
  14. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #14
    I downloaded that CPU test app so I just let it run all night for the last few days. 18 hours with 100% CPU and the temp on the HDD only read 108*F.

    This thing runs so amazingly cool at 1.58ghz. Hasn't crashed or frozen either. I'm very impressed. On to 1.83ghz overclock :eek::D.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #15
    Wow, that reminds me of overclocking the old 680x0 machines. Bust out the soldering iron! :p
     
  16. opera57 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
  17. EB66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #17
    im curious to hear the kind of speed you gained encoding? noticeable?
     
  18. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #18
    can you overclock macbooks? id like to do mine lol:D
     

Share This Page