Just posted my first YouTube video!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by someguy, Apr 18, 2007.

1. someguy macrumors 68020

someguy

So, I've been wanting to post a YouTube video for a while now, and I figure the only thing I have to offer to the YouTube community is a video of my trying to play guitar.

I've been playing for 9 months or so, not vigorously, just here and there, learning bits and pieces of songs I like - mostly Tool songs.

One song I can play all the way through is Rosetta Stoned (I love this song). So I posted a video of my playing the first half of the song. I can play the second half, but my hand gets too tired (c'mon, the song is over 11 minutes long, cut me some slack). :D

Anyways, I hope this OK to ask. I'd appreciate some feedback if anyone has a few minutes to spare. Maybe some tips on playing, or filming video, or whatever you have to say. :)

Disclaimer: I am not good at guitar so don't expect much. On top of that, I have no equipment to speak of. Very basic Fender guitar and very small amp. No pedals, no effects, no anything. Also, this was taken in one attempt, so there are a few blatant screw-ups. What can I say? Please take this into consideration if you choose to comment.

Thanks! :)

2. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

someguy

Damn, so much for being excited. :p

Has anyone here watched the video at all?

3. twoodcc macrumors P6

twoodcc

it seemed pretty good. not my kind of music though.

the only advice i can think of is to maybe get into it a little more. don't just stand and play the guitar....try to show some emotion

4. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

someguy

Thanks for the tip!