Just pressed the enter key!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by joelw135, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. joelw135 macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #1
    Well I finally got up enough nerve to order a new iMac 3.06. I will still have to run windows for two programs which I do my photography on. I have to admit that I am a little intimidated regarding using a new operating system, and using two OS on one system. Now to find a Microsoft keyboard and mouse that will work with both Mac and Windows XP. Bluetooth would be a nice thing. I am looking at the Microsoft® Natural™ Wireless Ergonomic Desktop 7000, but not sure it will work.
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
    The keyboard that comes with it works fine in Windows.
     
  3. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #3
    Oh! I am sure it does, but I like the Ergonomic type keyboard much better.
     
  4. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    should work fine. Command will be Option, WinKey will be Optional and Control the same. but if theres any audio buttons on the keyboard i dont think hey will work in OS X unless Microsoft makes drivers for it…
     
  5. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #5
    Thanks, that will be OK, I just hope the screen magnifier works, as I use it often. I read somewhere it works but infull screen in Mac, which I can live with.
     
  6. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    Don't be intimidated by the new operating system. All in all, Mac OS X is a lot easier to learn than Windows!
     
  7. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #7
    Thanks for the confidence but I do remember my Windows learning days and all the crashes. Still don't know if it was my fault or the OS.:)
     
  8. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    Did I mention that Mac OS X is a lot more stable?
     
  9. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #9
    I might just have to get a picture of the "Blue Screen Of Death" just to remind me.
     
  10. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #10
    CONGRATS! me too! except mines about 10 years older ( imac g3) lol
     
  11. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Holding the command key down while you use the scroll ball with the Mighty Mouse zooms the entire screen towards your mouse pointer. It may work with other mice, as well. You can select the option and change the shortcut in the System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse panel.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #12
    Thanks, great to know. Thanks.
     
  13. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #13
    I like wired keyboards and picked up a MS Natural 4000 and it is pretty nice. And a MS Wireless Natural 6000 mouse.

    Works well.
     
  14. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #14
    Just for clarification, it's the Control key you press, not Command.
     
  15. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #15
    I ordered the MICROSOFT WIRELESS ERGONOMIC DESKTOP 7000 which is bluetooth. I like to have as many USB ports as possible as I have a bunch of equipment that is USB. I am hoping that the Bluetooth in the iMac will work freeing up one USB port.
     
  16. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #16
    You can set it to be the the control, command or option key. Mine is set to be the command key (as shown in the screen shot above).
     
  17. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #17
    Hi:

    I got a Wireless Optical mouse and a wireless bluetooth keyboard working on OS X and customizable using Microsofts IntelliType and IntelliPoint software. All the buttons on the keyboard are customizable as they are on Windows.

    You can download the software here: http://www.microsoft.com/hardware

    Also, note: the Start key is actually the command key, just to save the confusion

    pac
     
  18. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #18
    Yes I bought the Ergonomic Natural 7000 2.4 but it isn't bluetooth. A little purchasing error. The Multimedia 7000 is bluetooth. Oh well I loose a USB port. On my windows machine I had 7 built in USB 2.0 ports and 4 FW ports. I will have to daisy chain my two USB 2.0 hubs, and plug my external HD into one port.
     
  19. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #19
    It's on the way!!!!

    I was notified by Apple that my new iMac is on the way and will be here on the 29th. The same day my keyboard and mouse will arrive.
     
  20. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #20
    I have just a single 7 port hub, which gives me enough ports combined with the 3 left over on the computer.
     
  21. joelw135 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joelw135

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #21
    The problem I have found with different USB 2.0 devices such as Hard Drives and other items that loose connection when put in a powered hub. So my external HD and my Keyboard fill two of the USB ports on the iMac and the last port is for the two daisy chained hubs.
     

Share This Page