Just received 2 tmobile contract free

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hashsi99, Oct 6, 2014.

  1. hashsi99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #1
    Iphone 6's for use on att. I called att and they sent the carrier update to both devices. Both connect to LTE and make calls. However, in places that my 2 5s have LTE, the 6's are on "4g".

    I also did speed tests on all 4 phones in the same location and both the 6's have slower download and ping times.

    Any suggestions? I'm most likely going to return and purchase att versions.
     
  2. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Have you reset the network provisions? At&t has slower LTE than Tmo but should have better reception.
     
  3. hashsi99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #3
    Yes.

    I'm probably going to return and order the correct ones. Worried about future services (hd voice, VoLte).
     
  4. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    They're the exact same phone. Just reset your network settings like the other user suggested.
     
  5. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #6
    Call them back, you'll probably have to call a few times to get them to provision them correctly. I had the same issue, but got it fixed on the first call. It was provisioned as a non LTE phone originally.
     
  6. hashsi99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
  7. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #8
    that is normal.
     
  8. hashsi99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #9
    How so? Both 5s (att versions) are getting 15mb down, and the 6's are getting 9mb.

    ----------

    Was your 6 showing lte in the status bar?
     
  9. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #10
    It was my 5 that did that. It was on 4G for the longest time, then I found out that it should be LTE. Called up apple and the reprovisioned it and I think had me reset the network settings to get it to work. Took like a champ. I was wondering why my wife's always showed LTE and mine showed 4G, assumed it was a 5 limit.
     
  10. Supermallet macrumors 65816

    Supermallet

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #11
    If the phone isn't showing LTE, then you're on HSPA+, which would explain the slower speeds. Call AT&T.
     
  11. hashsi99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
  12. hashsi99 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #13
    Update. Went to att and got a new SIM card.

    Same problem. Both phones slower ping and lte speeds.

    Can someone check their tmobile contract free running on att and verify?
     
  13. lwdc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    I've been using AT&T on my T-Mobile iPhone 6 since the first time I turned it on with no problems using AT&T's network. LTE speeds are similar to what I got on my 5s.
     
  14. tworth23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #15
    Just plug phone into iTunes to update carriers settings you'll be prompted to update carrier settings then you should be fine
     

Share This Page