Just received my iPad1, need some JB advice

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by maw4bc, Apr 5, 2011.

1. maw4bc macrumors regular

So I am a noob on the jailbreaking, but after reading some posts here, most people are saying not to upgrade to the latest firmware. So I am waiting to connect my iPad to iTunes because I am not sure I should connect it with my latest version of iTunes. I am currently running iTunes 10.2.1 (1).

Does anyone have advice for getting my iPad1 Jail broken? Thanks for the help

Mike

2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

+1

OP- Alot of the forums that you are reading here might be a tad outdated. The latest OS 4.3.1 was only untethered as of yesterday morning, so you might be seeing ones that say to wait because of that. I did my 3GS last night though and its the most stable JB I've encountered yet.

3. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the quick reply. I am about to follow the instructions, but one quick question.

After just turning on my iPad1 I only have the connect to itunes showing. Is it ok for me to connect to the iTunes that I have mentioned above? Or do I need to roll back to a different iTunes?

4. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

Current iTunes is fine. Download redsn0w.
    Blog.iPhone-dev.org

Search google for iPad 4.3.1 firmware. Install and run redsn0w, then just follow the directions. Easy as pie.

5. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

7. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

are there certain things that you can do on one that you cant do on the other?

8. blevins321 macrumors 68030

I think so. I could be wrong about that though. I know the Pwnagetool lets you choose Cydia apps to install before you create the IPSW, but I didn't utilize this feature this time. I'm on my bank work computer at the moment, so I can't verify, but I don't think Redsnow has that capability.

9. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

Have never had redsn0w crash. Are you on OSX or windows?