Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Namji

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 13, 2010
Hi,

Just joined this forum to find information regarding Macbooks and so far I have found lots of good info. I am new to Macbooks and I got my Macbook pro yesterday and its a cool change from a PC.

I have a few questions that I could not find when I searched so I hope someone here could help answering them.

1. The Macintosh HD icon that appears in the top right corner, is that a default setting? I checked some threads here and looked the screen shots and it seems that lots of others have this same icon on the screen, so I am assuming that this is a default setting straight out of the box.

2. Could someone direct me to a thread that guides me into what I should do when I first receive my Macbook pro? I read somewhere that I should turn on my firewall, so I already did that. Any other things I should install, or change on the default settings.

3. What is a Leapord? Panther? I know its a big cat but I see this term being used a lot regards to the OS. What OS do I have? and what are the differences?

Thanks in advance.

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
1. That is the default setting. You can put the icon somewhere else if you like, or even hid it (Finder > Preferences > General > Show these items on the Desktop: Hard disks).

2. Calibrate your battery:

This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions: Apple Notebook Battery FAQ

Apple on notebook batteries

Apple Portable: Calibrating your computer's battery for best performance

Laptop Battery Guide

Links to Software Recommendation Threads

4561230714_d6e9a40397_o.jpg

3. Leopard is the code name for Mac OS X 10.5, Panther is the code name for Mac OS X 10.3, Mac OS X 10.6.x is called Snow Leopard. Look here for more information.