Just saw my first nMP "in the flesh"

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by johngwheeler, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. johngwheeler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Location:
    I come from a land down-under...
    #1
    Yesterday I wandered into the Apple store in Sydney and had a look at the new Mac Pro. They only had a single 4-core base model hooked up to Thunderbolt display.

    First impressions were that it's very shiny - more of a mirror-like finish than black metal. It also had quite a lot of fingerprints from curious people like myself.

    The unit is about the size that I expected, but is surprisingly heavy. I was interested in its portability, and I think this could be a stretch to carry as airline hand-baggage; probably just within economy class weight limits (7kg I think?) if you have a laptop or iPad as well.

    I didn't get a chance to run any benchmarks which would have required installing software, so I just played around with the usual apps. They had FCP, but I don't recall whether it was the latest version optimized for the nMP GPUs. It felt quite fast, but not especially faster than an i7 iMac or rMBP. It did seem to boot very fast when I tested a cold start. I imagine that one needs to do something that stresses the CPU/GPU to really see a difference between the nMP and other high-end Macs.

    What I did notice when moving the unit around, was that the Thunderbolt connector to the display got pulled our really easily - you would need to have a lot of cable slack in real use to prevent this; there is very little "grip" in the TBolt connector. This could be a signifiant problem if you have storage devices connected.

    Overall, it looked like a nice machine (although my wife, who had never seen one or even read a single review, said it looked like an ashtray). I'm not convinced that the 4-core model is anything special unless you're using the GPUs, but time will tell whether more software makes use of these in the future.

    I think it falls into the "wait and see" category for me.
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    LOL

    Qantas is the only airline that I've flown that has actually weighed my carry-on and forced me to check some of it.
     
  3. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Probably a combination of being plugged and unplugged by curious folks like yourself and the MDP/TB ports have a small footprint with which to "grip."

    Same here. I'm waiting for 4k IPS to be more affordable and 60hz before I worry about upgrading from my 5,1 Quad.
     
  4. slughead, Jan 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014

    slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    My brand new Macbook Pro's Tbolt port is the same way, at least when compared to USB or firewire.
     
  5. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Yep, shallow and narrow is not a good combination when it comes to I/O.
     
  6. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #6
    Well providing your future nMP doesn't weight more then 3kg (case alone), you'll be fine with the carry on weight limit as the nMP is 5kg :cool:

    I'll be carrying mine back to work and home almost daily, but the thunderbolt port becoming loose is kinda worrying. :(

    ----------

    Any idea why those "geniuses" at intel never put into consideration of it becoming loose over time? I miss those screw in or spring lock ports
     
  7. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #7
    I'm kind of curious about what you do that you need a mac pro to be portable like that?
     
  8. Sym0 macrumors 6502

    Sym0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #8
    Just saw my first nMP "in the flesh"

    Wrong post
     
  9. NeonHeatDisease macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #9
    I had the exact same experience as your entire post today at the Apple store in the Americana in Glendale, CA. Base level 4 core hooked up to TB display. I did want to echo the quoted paragraph as well - I tried checking out the I/O and the screen went dark. This happened again when another guy came up and looked at the I/O whilst i was fiddling with FCP. Not having had machine with thunderbolt yet, this is a little disconcerting.

    I also noticed that the I/O panel remained illuminated the entire time weather the machine had been turned or not, not very swanky.
     
  10. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #10
    That is exactly why I make jokes about an impending matte version:D.
     
  11. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    If the day comes that I get one, I'll be treating the case with *something* to remove the shiny surface and keep fingerprints hidden.
     
  12. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #12
    [​IMG]

    ...and only $3.87 !
     
  13. jouster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #13
    Some opportunity there for third-party cases...
     
  14. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    Yeah, it could be a $4 can or something expensive, but I gotta do it. I've never liked the glossy screen, the shiny this and the polished that. I'm into matte screens and brushed aluminum from my electronics to my faucets. The only things I want to see my reflection in are my cars and mirrors.
     
  15. CH12671 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #15
    I surely wouldn't paint the can it comes with for fear of voiding the warranty.....but I definitely think aftermarket cans could be an answer
     
  16. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    Strange, the TB cables on my iMac are really hard to plug out actually. Same on my raids.
     
  17. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #17
    I would be more inclined to do a mild bead-blasting, just to rough up the finish. If you do it right, you could probably recreate the classic matte anodized aluminum. How sweet would that be??
     
  18. resotek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #18
    My Late 2012 Mini is the same. Very positive engagement and it requires definite force to unplug. I would not like a sloppy port that just barely holds the cable. Interesting.
     
  19. NeonHeatDisease macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #19
    Ive had the same experience as you - with thunderbolt 1. Rock solid no problems. I am starting to wonder if theres any slight difference jn the build of the connectors lately or between tb1 and tb2 (i dont think the latter but maybe). More likely the cables at the Apple store were tight or everyones been straining it constantly or something. We shall see
     

Share This Page