Just saw the nMP in person today

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jjahshik32, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
    Wow I just went to the Apple store to take a look at the nMP and it was much smaller than I'd originally imagined.

    I put my ear right up at the top and this thing was barely audible. Man I knew I shouldn't have gone to look at it, now I want one.

    I'm trying very hard not to get one as I already have a custom built PC gaming rig but man I would love to hook the new nMP up to my Dell U2711H monitor that I've just gotten as well.
     
  2. macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #2
    It is indeed --subjectively, granted-- seductively gorgeous, and I noticed certain add-ons are starting to appear in similar jet black, and some even glossy jet black, finish.

    http://www.lacie.com/ca/products/product.htm?id=10621
    http://store.apple.com/ca/product/MD861ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-cable-20-m?fnode=51
    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echo15prothunderboltdock.html This one could use some work in the aesthetics dept, imho.
     
  3. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #3
    After thinking long and hard, I decided to just not buy one. Well not just yet, I'll wait until the rev b arrives to make a decision as well as to save up for one.
     
  4. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #4
    There is an old saying:
    The "better" is the main enemy of the "good".
    There will always be a newer "rev" for anything and everything.
    My "rev a" gives me entire satisfaction. :D
     
  5. shaunp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #5
    I bought the 6-core with 512GB SSD and dual D700's (actually upgrades a 4-core so I could have less RAM, then upgraded the RAM with 64GB from Crucial). I have it on my desk plugged into a U2711 and it is a fantastic machine. The 'rev b' might land late this year, it might not but I'm happy with the one I have. A world apart from anything else I've ever owned and my gaming PC is now in the attic.
     
  6. jjahshik32 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6

    Perhaps I'll grab the rev a model when the rev b's are out at a significant discount. :D
     
  7. scoobeesnac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    #7
    Curious - I found it larger than expected.
     
  8. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #8
    Apple has a policy of adding higher specs to any device in every new release while keeping more or less the price.
    What you suggest would mean not buying new.
    It might be some time before you find people reselling already used nMP.
    Refurbished sales from Apple are only marginally cheaper than new.
    If you really needed now a nMP then you would not poker about an uncertain future but buy one and use it.
    If you don't need it now you can wait until you need one.
     
  9. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #9
    Got a guy on CL selling the base six core system, nib, for $3,800 right now. Hard not to pull the trigger on it.
     
  10. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #10
    If you're going to use over a 24" non-Apple monitor with a Mac you'll need the $99 Apple Mini DisplayPort to Dual DVI Adaptor. It's not inexpensive but it does work unlike other less expensive cables.
     
  11. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #11
    wait for the refresh. The socket in the new mac pro is pretty much retired. Haswell-e, the 2011-3 socket, and DDR4 is around the corner. Intel guarantees socket support for 2 years. So if you wait for the refresh you'll be able to upgrade to the broadwell-e processors or skylake-e processors so ya wait.

     
  12. theluggage macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #12
  13. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #13
    Another thing that will be nice about DDR4 is that it'll support higher capacities of RAM. You're talking 32/64GB sticks of RAM.

    There's no more quad cores so the price you're paying for the quad core you'll be able to get a hex core in the refresh.

    In other words the wait will be worth it.

     
  14. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #14
    I am in no rush as it would not be for me..I don't need the capabilities of this system. I'd give it to my brother as he's got an older Mac Pro 3,1 system. I have thought about holding off for the second revision for many of the reasons you've listed.
     
  15. macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #15
    No kidding. It still shows as 'Pre-Order' on their website. They announced back in January that they are now going to make them Thunderbolt2 compliant, while also trying to solve a Windows 'two PCIe controller' limitation.

    From their pre-order page: "With the recent shipment of several Thunderbolt 2-to-PCIe card expansion chassis, our knowledge and experience is enabling us to quickly modify the dock design to support Thunderbolt 2."

    This wait may have been worth it, if it'll work without hiccups, as designed.
     
  16. theluggage macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #16
    ...that, I suspect is the main reason for the delay, and why we can't have nice things in our Thunderbolt docks.
     
  17. shaunp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #17
    I think your best bet would be to buy second hand when the rev b's come out as Apple won't discount much, or nothing that I would call 'significant' anyway.
     
  18. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #18
    What?

    What "two controller" limitation? I have lots of Windows and Linux systems with multiple PCIe controllers and PCIe cards with PCIe switches - and some pretty convoluted PCIe topologies.

    They all "just work".

    Please provide some links.
     
  19. CH12671 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #19
    Completely false. I am running a 27 inch on HDMI right now...straight from the HDMI port. You can't run more than 3 on a passive adapter.
     
  20. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #20
    I think he means if you want it to come off the mdp/tb2 port you need that adapter (and you shouldn't need it). The HDMI port is different.
     
  21. CH12671 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Location:
    Southern US
    #21
    For resolutions below 1920 x 1200 (including all 1080p monitors) a passive adapter will work, regardless of the size of the monitor. The size of the screen doesn't matter, it's the number of pixels. The one caveat is that you can only use 3 passive adapters at once (including the HDMI). More than that and you WILL have to get an active adapter (regardless of the resolution). So, therefore, if one wants to hook up a DVI 1080p monitor via MDP>DVI using the passive adapter, one can certainly do that....with no problems. In fact, I have one of those in a 27 inch size at work, and often carry my nMP to work and hook it straight into that monitor using the MDP>DVI adapter I bought for $29 at best buy.
     
  22. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
  23. macs4nw, Jun 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2014

    macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #23
    They (Sonnet) were saying back in January, that at that time Windows could only support a maximum of two PCIe controllers in one Thunderbolt device, while their Echo Docks were going to have five controllers.

    It can be found in the 'Shipping Status Update' section of their 'Thunderbolt 2 Docking Station' webpage, last indented paragraph.
     
  24. JustinePaula macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #24
    Where is the front of the Mac Pro? For me, power is at the back, inputs are on the front, with the Mac Pro it is both front and back...

    Anyone notice the obvious design flaw in the new Mac Pro?? When it was launched I was surprised that the lack of comment on the position and design of the power cord.

    I visited my local Apple store, they have a Mac Pro on display, so I got to really study it, and OMG, how could the power cord be so badly placed on a $3000 device?

    My $29.99 JobLot kettle has a circular power base that prevents the cord from moving, with the Mac Pro, as the power is on the same plane as the inputs, you need to keep moving it.

    Why not put the power on a separate power base, so that you can rotate the device on the base, without putting strain on the "Chinese handcuff" at the very end of the power cord, just before it attaches to the tower? Any one older than 18 months knows that is where cords break, at the very end of the stiff black cable holder.
     
  25. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #25
    Sounds cumbersome, and way too much over engineering just for the power cord.
     

Share This Page