Just started shooting in RAW. Some basic help please?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by 88888888, Jul 28, 2009.

1. 88888888 macrumors 6502a

Ok So, I just started shooting in raw and I'm trying to edit it in iphoto.
    There's some things that I don't quite understand.

1) When I import it into iPhoto, it says RAW. Next, I attempt to edit it by adjusting the sharpness, levels, saturation, temperature, etc... After I'm done editing, I click done, what am I suppose to do next? Do I export in JPEG? then reimport it to iPhoto and delete the raw file?

2) Also I noticed the RAW images aren't better quality (unedited) compared to jpeg. It's just not as sharp and sometimes it seems like focus is not right. So am is it correct that unedited RAW images are worse quality than jpeg?
    In addition, it seems like after I try to edit it in iphoto the pictures still don't come out as nice as jpegs.

3) When I edit the RAW's in iPhoto, I find it a little laggy at times. For example, when I use the scroll bar to adjust the temperature, it isn't instant, the rainbow beach bow shows up and it's slow.

4) I'm looking into getting either Aperture or Lightroom. If my laptop is lagging now... will it even be more laggier when I use the more advance programs? Also will those better photo editing software improve my picture quality?
    I'm currently using a 15' macbook pro early 2008, I wonder why I'm lagging. I'm thinking it's because I run like 8 programs. (skype, oovoo, msn, yahoo, ichat, itunes, ical mail, safari and a couple others.)

Thanks for your help :confused::apple::)

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

RAW images have the same artifacts as JPEG pictures, as far as I have gathered.

A RAW just stores so much more information than a JPEG, which can be edited later without destroying information, like exposure, temperature, vibrance, saturation, which allows more freedom in post processing.