justify 2.66 or 2.93

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by raw911, Feb 24, 2009.

1. raw911 macrumors regular

Trying to convince wife [and me] would the 2.93 grant any major differences. I am a photographer and videographer .. i would be using my nikon D3 with a wireless transmitter sending raw photos to lightroom and editing if needed using CS4 and also digesting footage from sony xd cam using FCP and also adobe after effects. Been using older mbp 2.33 and it does slug sometimes but would like to get opinions of those here what their take on the 2 options would be.

2. alexbates macrumors 65816

alexbates

2.66 should be fine unless you really want the 2.93GHz. What you will need though to keep it running fast though is 4GB of memory. You can get that from OWC for much less than you can buy it from Apple.

3. Moriarty macrumors 6502

The new 17 inch MBP already comes with 4GB.

Unless you were referring to his old computer.

4. mforce300 macrumors newbie

I do a lot of architectural rendering work where processor calculations are very important. Faster clock speed will allow me to do these renderings much faster.

Also I plan to sell this computer when the i7 based macbook pros eventually become available. The better the specs are on this one, the more I'll be able to sell it for....

5. NATO macrumors 68000

NATO

You're right, but would a potential buyer be willing to spend £178 more than the 2.66GHz for the 2.93GHz version a year from now? I'm thinking perhaps not. Personally though, I think the 2.93GHz is a good investment if you're planning on keeping the laptop for a few years.

6. raw911 thread starter macrumors regular

Yea this would be my last laptop for a while. Will consider the mac pro once it comes out tho. Also I been buying AppleCare forever and never had to use it so I'm thinking on passing. But just my luck. Well you know. To keep expense down.

7. xoggyux macrumors 6502