K5000 vs Tesla

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by luisramos, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. luisramos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys, I work with 3d and I'm thinking about getting a new card.
    K5000 for mac I know it's a excellent video card, but would a newer tesla work on a Mac Pro (2011)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #2
    Here're a couple of things to keep in mind. Quadros usually have video display outputs. Teslas usually don't.

    Quadro K5000 for Mac should have Mac Quadro drivers. I'm not aware of any Tesla for the Mac. So what drivers would you have available to use? If you have to use regular GTX drivers, then you're better off just getting the comparable GTX card to save yourself lots of money.
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    I agree with Tutor here.

    The primary advantage to Quadro and Tesla cards in Mac is Dual Precision performance. But I have yet to find ANYTHING that can benefit from Dual Precision, other than a Dual Precision benchmark.

    A Quadro K5000 benches similarly to a GTX670 as that is what it is most like.

    Teslas do have drivers. There is even the ability in OS X to enable the ECC RAM thanks to the awesome drivers that Nvidia has written. I have used a Tesla C2070 as it has a single DVI port. I was able to write an EFI rom that enabled boot screens via the DVI and enabled all 6GB to show up.

    One of the other benefits to these cards is that they have lower power draw then the desktop versions of the same chips. So you may be able to run 2 at once. I had a Quadro 6000 (Fermi generation) in last week as a flash job. I was able to write an EFI that enabled boot screens and Dual DP outputs. Fun card but benches were in the GTX470 range. So, if you need something with GTX470 speed but with 6GB of RAM, it makes sense. It also had the ECC RAM so if you need that extra level of precision, then yes they make sense.

    But for raw CUDA/OpenCl horsepower, the Titan-X leaves all for dead at this point.
     
  4. philliplakis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Location:
    AUS
    #4

    Quadro cards are also more utilised in AutoCAD etc.
    At our office the IT guy won't even look at the benchmarks I send him...
    He just put K2200 in our CAD stations...! From memory they where $1000 each..

    Do you know if the quadro perform better in CAD compared to GeForce in macs ?
    Can you install the windows driver corresponding with the card and get the resources , with your 780 6gb I havnt installed anything and works a charm so I think lol

    Also does the card have to drive the display for it to be used to compute?
     
  5. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    Good basic card, gpu power of AMD 5870 or better, but no power cables needed
     
  7. luisramos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    #7
    Cool guys!
    Though I sometimes use CUDA for real time rendering, the main problem that i'm facing in 3d softwares (3dsmax mainly) is viewport performance, so I guess quadro is more reliable as a work card in this situation, right?
     
  8. luisramos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    #8
    Hi guys, sorry for bringing back the thread. But I bought the k5000 and I'm not sure if I'm impressed.
    Viewport is very fast, but vray RT with CUDA is almost the same as with CPU and photoshop with graphic accelerator ON is actually slower then when it's OFF.
     
  9. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #9
    The only thing you can do is add a psu in the drive bay and install another card to raytrace - 980 or 980ti.

    A Titan X would've been a better choice best of both worlds. You could sell the K5000 and buy a Titan X would be cheaper overall than additional PSU and card...
     
  10. luisramos, Oct 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    luisramos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    #10
    Yes! Titan X would be much faster, especially on RT, but the reason I bought k5000 is viewport perfomance, and with that I'm very satisfied. The only weird thing is on photoshop, it's really really slow when graphic acceleration is on.
    Shouldn't it be very smooth with a quadro?
    Thanks man.

    EDIT: Just notice that in Yosemite photoshop runs smooth but on Windows (bootcamp) runs laggy. Don't know if it's a driver problem or just . . . Windows.
     
  11. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    Are you running a Quadro driver? In windows?
    Try a different one, With my K4200 i run a Geforce driver works great in CAD
     
  12. luisramos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    #12
    Yes, I'm using the latest quadro driver. That's interesting, gonna try that!

    Thanks
     
  13. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #13
    Are you using Apple's drivers or Nvidia's?

    "Bootcamp" is an Apple environment - it's not pure Windows.
     
  14. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #14
     

Share This Page