Kanex XD with PS3

Discussion in 'iMac' started by evirob, May 26, 2010.

  1. evirob macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Anyone of you ordered the Kanex XD for your 27" iMac? I ordered one on 19th May with the UK power adapter. Received a confirmation email on the day itself with delivery via USPS Priority International

    But subsequently, when I emailed them for an estimated delivery date, there wasn't a reply from them ever since. I don't even know if they have even shipped.

    Like to check if anyone of you have received yours or have been given a tracking number etc?

    Apologies for my lengthy post but am getting impatient bout it as there isn't any information from the vendor.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. evirob thread starter macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #3
    Hi Guys,

    Received my Kanex XD earlier this afternoon. It works perfectly. 720p on a 27" screen ain't that bad.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. beardboy macrumors regular

    beardboy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bath
    #4
    Could you get some more pics up and is there any lag, jagged lines etc etc or is it pretty good? If you could post up a vid or something on youtube, that'd be great as i'm in the market for a 27" Quad with the Kanex XD :)

    Does sound also work using the built in speakers?

    Are you using PS3 or Xbox 360?

    Thanks
     
  5. evirob thread starter macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #5
    Could you get some more pics up and is there any lag, jagged lines etc etc or is it pretty good?
    Hope this image is sufficient, had to on flash as my room is really dark

    Does sound also work using the built in speakers?
    Sound output is via my HK soundsticks connected thru the 3.5mm jack from the iMac. It works with the built in speakers too.

    Are you using PS3 or Xbox 360?
    I'm using a PS3.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Bottump macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #6
    I've received mine too and it works great. I'm using a ps3 and there's no lag whatsoever. Definitely buy one if you intend to hook up a ps3/xbox to the imac.

    However, don't bother if you intend to just hook up a blu-ray player. The picture quality is fine but on close inspection there is a fair bit of pixelation and doesn't look any better than watching a standard def dvd imo.
     
  7. beardboy macrumors regular

    beardboy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bath
    #7
    Thanks for that :)

    Any chance of a close up to show any pixelation?

    Sorry for all the questions.

    Cheers
     
  8. beardboy macrumors regular

    beardboy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bath
    #8
    I intend on hooking up my PS3 and 360, via an HDMI Switch box. Will watch Blu-Ray films on it, as the PS3 has the BDRom in it - i'm guessing as the iMac only supports 720p, that's why their's pixelation.

    That's a shame that Blu-Ray won't look as good as i'm used to. :(
     
  9. beardboy macrumors regular

    beardboy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bath
    #9
    Thanks for that :)

    Any chance of a close up to show any pixelation?

    Sorry for all the questions.

    Cheers
     
  10. omamo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #10
    kanex xd sound and toggle

    I just received my Kanex Xd and got it hooked up to my 27" imac. Somehow, the hot-key toggling(command+F2) does not work for me, and neither does the sound. The screen works fine but there is a horrible static sound that accompanies it. However the sound keys work on the keyboard, as i can mute it or increase/decrease the volume...

    Does anyone know how I can fix these problems?
     
  11. evirob thread starter macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #11
    I tried taking a closeup snapshot but somehow, it isn't an accurate representation of the picture. All i can say is that its pretty good looking as long as ur seating 1m or more from the display.

    BTW, text in the xmb interface looks a bit pixelated though. Graphics are fine though. Maybe u should look at the Altona HD 620 if picture clarity is your main concern. Didn't buy it cos it looks a wee bit ugly in my opinion.
     
  12. MrChip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    Canadas Arctic
    #12
    Omamo, if your using a PS3 make sure the audio settings are set to use Stereo PCM only out and disable Surround Sound 5.1. Seems as though when you change between the Mac and PS3 the audio trys to grab the surround sound setting by default causing the audio be be all staticy and garbled. Once I did the changes in the settings it worked fine for me.

    As for the command F2 issue you may have your function keys disabled on the keyboard so you may have to press COMMAND+FN+F2. This is what i had to do and it worked for me.

    Sorry if the answer is a little too late for you, but I hope it answers your questions.

    JD
     

Share This Page