Keep 2012 13" MBP or Exchange for 2012 13" MBA?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mnsportsgeek, Jun 19, 2012.

?

Keep 2012 13" MBP or Exchange for 2012 13" MBA (Both base models)

1. Keep 13" MBP

4 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Exchange for 13" MBA

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

Hello everyone,

Let me start off by saying I purchased the 13" MacBook Pro last Monday because I had been using a broken 15" 2008 MacBook Pro for the last 6 months so I was eager to get rid of that thing.

I have been using the 13" for the last week and I gotta say that I really do like it. I love the 13" screen size as opposed to the larger footprint of the 15", and it gives me a good excuse to utilize the full screen apps more with the 13".

Here's the thing though, I'm wondering if I should exchange it (within 14 day period) for a base model 13" MacBook Air. The Powernap feature in Mountain Lion is very intriguing to me, and I've heard that a MacBook air will run significantly faster than a MacBook Pro in day to day tasks. All I use my computer for is internet browsing, writing papers, iTunes, and iPhoto with the occasional game (Might give Diablo 3 a try, but I prefer consoles for my gaming fix).

Back to Powernap, I'm concerned that Apple will start coming out with features that utilize their SSD's and no moving parts laptop configurations, PowerNap being the first of them. I'm not really comfortable with having a laptop that purchased a week ago already being left out of features.