Keep Aperture 2 after update to 3?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jjs1138, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. jjs1138 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    It seems like a simple question, but I could not find the answer anywhere. Do I need to retain the full version of Aperture 2 after installing the Aperture 3 update version or am I free to sell it or whatever?
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    You're free to sell your old copy as long as you buy the full $199 version of Aperture. If you buy the $99 upgrade you cannot sell your old copy.
     
  3. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #3
    Another issue to keep in mind, if you should have to re-install you will probably need the full retail of v2 to get the v3 upgrade on.
     
  4. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #5
    You received no warning because you "trashed" all A2 files prior to installing. If you had not done that, a message would have greeted you on starting the A3 installer.

     
  5. jjs1138 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #6
    Good point.
     
  6. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #7
    Not just if you reinstall. If you purchase a new Mac and transfer to it, you'll need your original S/N, which probably can't have been activated elsewhere. If you do the upgrade, I doubt the old S/N will work anywhere else either. When I moved from a Macbook Pro to a Mac Pro, I had a week's worth of getting a receipt out of B&H (actually pretty easy) and getting the information to Apple without a fax machine (slow because of email turn around times) to get them to issue me a new S/N for A1 so that I could activate A2 on my new machine.

    Edit: That's including the fact that I had a valid A2 upgrade S/N- which simply wouldn't work to authorize A2 on the new system. A2 still worked fine on my laptop, but there was no way to activate A2 on the new system even though I'd used Migration Assistant without an A1 S/N. Even the logic that having a valid A2 upgrade serial number that I'd successfully used about a year prior to activate A2 wasn't enough to budge the Apple Pro App authentication machine to do anything other than hold out for an original receipt.

    Paul
     
  7. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #8
    Read the EULA if you really care. Everyone I have read says that if you pay for an upgrade, the upgraded version is no longer allowed to be used by anyone (not even yourself). Basically it is like the original copy no longer exists. As others have said, if you pay full price for the new version you can continue to use the old one (although check the EULA if you want to sell it, that may be prohibited, Apple has some pretty tight wording).
     

Share This Page