keep data and switch out hard drives

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by nick1516, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #1
    Is there any way for me to keep my data without using an external hard drive when switching to a bigger hard drive, I just got a macbook and I wanted to upgrade from the 120gb.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    You mean magically transfer the data from one HD to another? No.

    You need to either use an external, or backup all the important files to DVD, then reinstall from scratch on the new drive.
     
  3. nick1516 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #3
    well that sucks, i was trying to see if there is a cheaper option than an external hard drive because I won't get the new hard drive for about a week, looks like a can't even use my new macbook:(
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    You really should invest in an external HD ... how do you plan to backup your files?
     
  5. nick1516 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #5
    Well, I'm in High school and had to quit my job because of too many college courses, so I really only have enough money left to buy new hard drive, ram, and snow leopard.
     
  6. matthewscott661 macrumors 6502

    matthewscott661

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    You can get an enclosure for the internal drive that makes it an external drive. You can transfer the files to the new drive, then use the old drive as a backup for important files when you're done. They only cost about $10-$20 normally.
     
  7. nick1516 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #7
    So, I would be able to use the laptop normally then when I switch it out just plug it in and restore with it? And where can you normally get one of these that would work with a macbook hard drive?
     
  8. matthewscott661 macrumors 6502

    matthewscott661

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    I prefer Other World Computing, but you can find them a lot of places.
    Here is a nice one.

    You will just need to put the new drive in the enclosure, use Carbon Copy Cloner, or something similar, to copy the whole drive over, then switch the two drives.
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Yes, you could use something Carbon Copy Cloner to copy the old drive to the new one, then install the new one.

    After that, you can just keep the old one in the external enclosure and use it as a backup.

    Here's an example enclosure:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817348022
     
  10. mbtalle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    ATL
    #10
    You're in high school and had to quit your job b/c of too many college courses? I'm mad confused.
     
  11. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
  12. nick1516 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #12
    I take AP classes that are worth college credits and I've had a lot of work in them to keep my job.
     

Share This Page