Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which phone should I have?

• Total voters

andy317

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 13, 2008
Hi all,

I currently have a iPhone 6 Plus (128GB) and (in theory) could have upgraded to the iPhone 7/Plus as I buy my phones every two years outright.

I've been toying with the idea of getting the OnePlus 3T or even a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge and passing my iPhone to the Mrs as she has an iPhone 5 (16GB). I really don't fancy forking out £819 to get the equivalent of my current iPhone when I could get a OP3T for £439 (128GB). I've also seen the S7E for around £500.

My options are keep my iPhone or get the OP3T/S7E and would like your opinion.

I'm sure someone on here could provide me with an idea of what Android is like as I've never used it before and what it's like switching from iOS.

I must admit that I'm more invested with Google than Apple. I do have an iPad and MacBook but I don't use iCloud and I'm not too bothered about iMessage and FaceTime as Whatsapp is what I tend to use and I use Google for most services (Gmail, Drive, Contacts, Calendars, Maps and Photos).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Andy

Oohara

macrumors 68040
Jun 28, 2012
Hey,

Be prepared that Android is quite different. I made the switch a few times and mostly loved it. It's great fun to customise your phone and really streamline it to your way of using it, after years of using an OS you really can't adjust whatsoever. The hardware sometimes also offers more versatility, with SD cards etc (and now even a headphone jack :p).