Keep Mac book or get Air?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blueribbonroy, Jan 10, 2012.

1. blueribbonroy macrumors newbie

I have a Mac Book from the aluminum uni-body series, it runs great and I have no problem with it. However I am a grad student now, and I walk to school a lot, and last semester I was really bummed lugging it around in my bag everyday.
    I am thinking about selling it and getting a Mac Book Air. The questions I have for the form are this. Am I going to notice/miss a change in performance, and will I be able to get by and do the same things I enjoy now, with the Air as my sole computer? Such as watching netflix youtube etc. And how much could I expect to get for the Mac Book on Craigslist? I have a large external hard drive that I already keep my music files on. Also I plan on upgrading to a wireless version soon.
    Thanks for your opinions!

2. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

We need more information here in addition to "watching netflix youtube etc." What software do you run? How often and for how long? How often do you use your machine? Where do you use it?

$400? $3000? $700? $1600?
    We can't make an estimate without knowing specific details of the machine. Do you mean an Aluminum MacBook, or a MacBook Pro?

3. tmagman macrumors 6502

no you will not see a decrease in performance. You will see a substantial increase actually, if not for the reason alone that the processors is 3 years newer, but also the fact that the air has the SSD. Go check out the geekbench scores and see how high the airs rank. The i7 air from 2011 outdoes my mid 2010 macbook pro even. It'll be a great switch for you.

4. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

How, exactly, do you know, considering he has provided absolutely zero information about his machine? :rolleyes:

If he's running netflix, youtube, and Pages, then I doubt he'll see any performance increase.

5. tmagman macrumors 6502