Keep MBP from adding comma to numbers

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rweakins, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. rweakins macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #1
    What setting has to be changed to keep my mac from inserting a comma when I type numbers?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    It's probably an application by application setting. When do you have to type in numbers in Finder?
     
  3. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #3
    It happens when i'm filling out a form in safari
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    That is most likely determined by the formatting built into the form.
     
  5. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #5
    Well the form gets rejected because it doesn't want commas in the entry
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    If you're not typing the commas, then the form is adding them. If the form rejects the commas that the form adds, the form is poorly designed. Can you post a link?
     
  7. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #7
    Does the same page do that in Firefox?
     
  8. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #8
    it's on discover.com when you go to apply for a credit card. when you add your yearly salary. it does it in chrome and safari
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    It's their form, not a setting on your computer. Contact their webmaster or customer support.
     
  10. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #10
    Then someone has goofed on that webform and someone else at discover is probably wondering why on earth they arent getting any more applications any more !

    I just had a try and it does add commas - but it didn't reject the form with its self-added commas (though I couldnt get past not having a valid ss number.

    What is the exact error message you get?
     
  11. rweakins thread starter macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #11
    It just says, enter your yearly salary even though I've already entered something.
     

Share This Page