Keep my powerbook g4 or get the MBPro?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by betsy, Jul 27, 2008.

1. betsy macrumors newbie

I've been a mac user since the early 80s. I'm not a professional photographer or a graphics person. I use it for some work <lawyer> and just as my home computer. I keep about 10,000 photos on it.

I bought my kids a MacBook a few months ago and love it. I do love the titanium though more:)

OK: my 80G hard drive is almost full, I have a little money in my pocket and love the MBP. Do I get the new one (with time capsule) or keep mine, get more memory and hard drive? The personal shopper at apple store said he'd be about 50-50 as to whether i need a new one. Advice please??

2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

what are the specs on the g4? I'd probably get a new one.

3. betsy thread starter macrumors newbie

It's 1.5GHz, 512 MB, has tiger.
    Thanks for responding!

4. LifeCerealRocks macrumors member

I spoil myself, I just ordered mine, can't wait to get in the mail. So if you got the cash for it, I would say go for it. You've got to spoil yourself once in a while

5. betsy thread starter macrumors newbie

My other option is taking the MacBook, giving kids this one after moving all my data, etc.
    But not sure about word 4.0, etc.

6. betsy thread starter macrumors newbie

Hmmm good point. And I did just get back child support and this purchase wouldnt make a dent AND i get 8% off as a state employee hmmmm :)

7. aosman macrumors 6502

I think you should get a new one when the MBP goes through a case redesign. That way you can maximize the lifetime of that computer. This is based on the fact that you kept your computer for a while; if you went through computers a lot, my advice would be different.

8. betsy thread starter macrumors newbie

I bought this one in April 2004. Does that change your opinion?
    And thanks:)

9. motulist macrumors 601

motulist