Keep Parallels running all the time?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 3bs, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    Does anyone keep Parallels running on all the time? I just started using it for Windows 7. Are there any negatives to this if I don't have anything open in Windows? I am using a mid 2012 11" MBA with top specs (i7, 8GB RAM) and it would be nice if I could have Windows on all the time as a Fullscreen app.
     
  2. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    That's the whole point of letting it open your Windows apps in OS X with the coherence feature. :) But sure, it should be fine in fullscreen with that 8GB you have. I've done it before on my MBP.
     
  3. 3bs thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    I was very impressed with the coherence feature and Parallels in general but I prefer having it in a mission control space of it's own.

    When I set it up I used my boot camp partition. It said that I'd have to activate Windows again. Does that mean I can only use this version of Windows on either Parallels or Boot camp? I'm using an OEM System Builder Pack of W7 and I think that's supposed to be only installed on one machine and I read that using VM's like Parallels makes it seem like I'm using another machine.
     
  4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #4
    I have no idea. When I tried it with boot camp, I used it on my other Mac and that was when they were having issues with the partition getting corrupted, so I haven't gone that route since then.

    Couldn't you just deactivate it in boot camp then go back and re-activate?
     
  5. 3bs thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    I'll give it a try. If it keeps running smoothly in Parallels maybe I'll get rid of boot camp altogether since I probably won't be needing the full resources for anything I'll be using Windows for.
     
  6. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #6
    If you have a machine with dual-graphics (MacBook Pro) I would recommend against it because merely having Parallels open is sufficient to force OS X to always use discrete graphics... But with an Air, you've only got the one GPU anyway. It will use a small amount of RAM, but not enough to worry about except under the heaviest of loads.
     
  7. 3bs thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Is RAM the only thing I should be concerned about?
     
  8. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #8
    Again, unless you're on a dual-graphics system where you are concerned about keeping the graphics on internal; yeah. It will use a few cycles of CPU, too, but not enough to be even remotely worrying.
     
  9. 3bs, Jul 10, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012

    3bs thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #9
    Another question. The Function keys don't seem to be working. They were a while ago but now they won't work. I tried rebooting but they won't work in boot camp but work in Parallels.

    Edit: repairing the drivers seems to have fixed it.
     

Share This Page