Keeping Existing Number with O2?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ScotRobson, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. ScotRobson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay UK
    #1
    Hello

    I'm a little confused and hope someone can help clear this up for me.

    I was at work yesterday and had a call from someone from O2 asking who my mobile phone provider was, I told him I was currently with O2. He asked if I wanted to upgrade my phone and I said I was waiting for the iPhone. (My current minimum contract period has expired.)

    When I said I was waiting for the iPhone he said oh yes that comes out on Friday, but do you know you will not be able to keep the same number? Would that be a problem for you, because we can't transfer your number over to the iPhone.

    At first I thought he was saying it to try and get me to upgrade to something else there and then just to get a sale, but he didn't try to sell me anything else and asked if I would like them to contact me when the iPhone was available.

    Now I'm confused because I have read on the forums all the people who have been getting their PAC codes from other providers all ready for the launch of the iPhone. So, how is it possible you can port a number from a different service provider but not the same one.

    Im just hoping that he didn't know what he was talking about.

    Any ideas???

    Many thanks
    Scot
     
  2. roblawton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #2
    Shens.

    You can transfer your number over no matter what network you're on.

    It's even easier as you're with o2!
     
  3. CD3660 macrumors 68040

    CD3660

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom.
    #3
    He may not have been from O2 at all. There are many fraudsters around. If he was from O2, he doesn't know what he's talking about. Ring customer services and get a PAC code, although I'm not sure whether you need it as you are on O2 anyway.
     
  4. ScotRobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay UK
    #4
    Good, I was hoping he didnt know what he was talking about.

    To be honest I didnt think he might not have been from O2 :eek:

    Now I just need to know if I will need a pac code or not??

    Scot
     
  5. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #5
    You DONT need the PAC code.
     
  6. adom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    If he's on O2 online he might
     
  7. ScotRobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay UK
    #7

    I am!
     
  8. ibanana macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #8
    O2 Online don't need a PAC
     
  9. adom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I cant remember, but when i worked for O2 im pretty sure I couldnt carry a number from O2 Online to O2 Retail and visa versa. Only Prepay to Post. Maybe im getting confused, but there was a reason I couldnt move my O2 online number to my retail staff account contact at the time.
     
  10. ibanana macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
  11. draperm25 macrumors regular

    draperm25

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Swansea
    #11
    well i thought this would'nt make any difference anyway as it is all done online through iTunes?
     
  12. ScotRobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay UK
    #12

    No i'm even more confused! Someone must know the answer to this. Is anyone else already with O2 online?
     
  13. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #13
    Yes I'm with O2 online and you do not need a PAC code. Same if you are a O2 retail customer.

    O2 CPW customers require a transfer code.
     
  14. jontucker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #14
    If you are with a different network you will need to get a PAC code from them.

    If you are an existing O2 customer (including pay as you go but excluding CPW customers) you will be asked during activation if you want to transfer your number. This can take up to 5 working days and you will get a temporary number in the interim.

    If you have an O2 CPW account you will need to contact them after you have purchased your iphone and they will give you a transfer code which you enter during the activation process. Again, you get a temporary number while the transfer takes place.

    If you took out your 02 CPW contract before 18th September 2007 there is no charge for terminating the contract. Otherwise I believe the termination fee is just over £200.

    Strangely, O2 Business and Corporate tariff customers CANNOT transfer their numbers to the iPhone.
     
  15. ScotRobson thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Torquay UK
    #15
    Ah ok, the original guy from O2 rang me on my work number so maybe he thought i was on a business contract. Thats probably why he said i couldnt transfer over my number!

    Thanks it all makes sense now.

    Regards
    Scot
     

Share This Page