Kernal Panic, attached report

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rhett7660, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #1
    Hello..

    I have been getting kernal panics more and more in the past few days. It only seems to happen when I leave my computer for a few hours or when I leave it on overnight. I am attaching the report. Has anybody else had this happen? For those who know what the report means is there something I should be looking at to fix?

    Code:
    Mon Jun  9 08:09:02 2008
    Machine-check capabilities (cpu 1) 0x0000000000000806:
    family: 6 model: 23 stepping: 6 microcode revision 1547
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5462  @ 2.80GHz
     6 error-reporting banks
     threshold-based error status present
    Machine-check status 0x0000000000000005
     restart IP valid
     machine-check in progress
    MCA error-reporting registers:
     IA32_MC0_STATUS(0x401): 0x1000000020000000 invalid
     IA32_MC1_STATUS(0x405): 0x0000000000000000 invalid
     IA32_MC2_STATUS(0x409): 0x0000000000000000 invalid
     IA32_MC3_STATUS(0x40d): 0x0020000000000000 invalid
     IA32_MC4_STATUS(0x411): 0x0000000000000011 invalid
     IA32_MC5_STATUS(0x415): 0xb200001080200e0f valid
      MCA error code           : 0x0e0f
      Model specific error code: 0x8020
      Other information        : 0x00000010
      Threshold-based status   : Undefined
      Status bits:
       Processor context corrupt
       Error enabled
       Uncorrected error
    panic(cpu 1 caller 0x001A8656): Machine Check at 0x00a47abc, thread:0xbe87410, trapno:0x12, err:0x0, registers:
    CR0: 0x8001003b, CR2: 0x7b024000, CR3: 0x013be000, CR4: 0x00000660
    EAX: 0x00000000, EBX: 0x00000001, ECX: 0x00000001, EDX: 0x00000000
    ESP: 0x7a407d20, EBP: 0x7a407e28, ESI: 0x0be6b000, EDI: 0x0be8ed00
    EFL: 0x00000046, EIP: 0x00a47abc
    
    Backtrace, Format - Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack) 
    0x7a4b1fb8 : 0x12b0fa (0x459294 0x7a4b1fec 0x133243 0x0) 
    0x7a4b2008 : 0x1a8656 (0x4624f4 0xa47abc 0xbe87410 0x12) 
    0x7a4b20e8 : 0x19fd93 (0x7a4b2100 0x0 0x0 0x0) 
    Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0x7a407e28
    
    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task
    
    Mac OS version:
    9D34
    
    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 9.3.0: Fri May 23 00:49:16 PDT 2008; root:xnu-1228.5.18~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacPro3,1 (Mac-F42C88C8)
    
    Thanks
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #3
  4. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    I also ran all of the utilities under disk utility on all the hard drives to see if that was the case. They all came back ok. Of course I haven't let my computer go into hibernation since I did this. Did it this morning before I started this thread.

    Verify Disk Permissions
    Repair Disk Permissions

    Verify Disk
    Repair Disk
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    100% sure you have all your EFI & SMC firmware updates?
     
  6. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #6
    Yellow...

    No I am not... How would I check for this?

    **update just googled it..........

    Here is my Boot ROM version: Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    Here is my SMC Version: SMC Version: 1.25f4

    According to this site:http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1237

    I have the most current Boot ROM version. SMC is blank on the page thou.
     
  7. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #8
    LOL.. yeah I found it... I love google.. I am pretty darn sure I have the latest versions. I haven't had much experience trouble shooting a Mac. Coming from a windows background.

    Thank you for your help, very much appreciated.

    I am running time machine on one of my internal drives. Just as an FYI..
     
  8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #9
    Try removing the RAM you installed. Also, if you've been experiencing frequent kernel panics you should check your hard drive for the errors which can result from all of those hard restarts, either by running Disk Utility from the restore discs or with fsck in Single User Mode, if you know how that's done. But you do need to run the Mac without that RAM, no matter what the RAM-checking software tells you.
     
  9. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #10
    IJ....

    Thanks... I will try the Disk Utility from the restore disk first. I haven't done the fsck in single user mode, but I will google to see if it is something I feel comfortable doing.

    I will pull all the ram out and see if I notice a difference with the shut downs etc.....

    Thanks
     
  10. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #11
    The fsck instructions, if you're feeling adventurous:

    Restart with the cmd-s keys held down, until you see a black screen with white characters. After the text stops scrolling, at the command prompt, type:

    fsck -f [including the space, return]

    If any repairs are reported, run fsck again until none are reported. Then, at the command prompt, type:

    reboot [return]
     
  11. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #12
    Why thank you very much for that info... I have it printed and sitting next to me........

    Thank you very much.
     
  12. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #13
    rhett7660 don't you just LOVE this forum!!
    Alan
     
  13. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #14
    Ummm yeah. Why? Did I miss something?
     
  14. ElectricSheep macrumors 6502

    ElectricSheep

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    #15
    Download a temperature sensing tool, and keep on eye on your system temps. Panics caused by a Machine Check should be taken seriously as they are almost always caused by a hardware failure due to defect or thermal stress.
     
  15. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #16
    The ram seems to working ok. I have it in since day one just as an fyi. I pulled all of the ram started with two gigs. Then replaced those two gigs etc. Each time I would let the computer go into hibernation mode. Each time it woke up fine. I then did this with 4 gigs and 8 gigs. That seemed to working fine.

    Before I did the ram test I also took out a third party pci card for my external hard drive enclosure (some reason I think this is the cuplrit)

    I put the pci card back in after the ram testing. I haven't started up the external enclosure yet thou.

    I went to the website of the enclosure and they don't have a download yet for the 10.5.3 update. Wondering if this might be my problem. I think for the time being I will move it to my server box and run it from there.

    So far I have had no more problems.

    I have not run the utility yet due to not having any more conflicts and finding out that there is not software availalbe for my external.

    Do you have a good recommandation on what I should download?

    Thanks again for everybody's help with this.
     

Share This Page