Kernal Panic?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tresbien, May 21, 2008.

1. tresbien macrumors regular

tresbien

I'm new to the mac world, I've used pc's practically my whole life, but just recently took the plunge and bought a used macbook. So far I've been pretty satisfied with it, minimal complaints, but i do have a big question about a problem I've been having.

I downloaded a torrent program under the advice of my brother, and have been downloading a pretty large torrent (3.53 gb). Its about 70% done now and I really would like it to just finish up becaaaauuuse...

Lately I'll be on the internet, typing something up, or listening to music and a message pops up, telling me I need to restart my computer. Agh!

I looked it up on the apple site and the explanation was kind of vague and not very helpful...so what do you guys think? Is it the torrent program? Or is it just my macbook?

2. misterredman macrumors 6502a

misterredman

What torrent program are you using? Do you get this message every time you are using the torrent program? Or only once?
    I have been using Transmission, a torrent program, with no problem at all.

3. tresbien thread starter macrumors regular

tresbien

I've been using azureus, and I get it more so when I'm using more than one program...like I'll be typing something up while using safari and listening to music and using the torrent program.

It's happened more than once though, which is what's frustrating.

4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

TuffLuffJimmy

Did you maybe run the software updater?

And why is this thread labeled "Kernel Panic?" if it has nothing to do with a Kernel Panic?

5. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816