Kernal Panics When Using Battery!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MichaelThomas, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. MichaelThomas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    I have a Macbook Pro 2.16GHz c2d.
    Every time I unplug the power cable I tend to keep getting kernal Panics!
    I normally use my MBP whilst plugged into the power supply, but occasionally when I decide not too, I just get Kernal Panics.
    It happened 3 times the other day and again just now with in 5 minutes of using it unplugged.

    Anybody had this problem before? Any suggestions on trying to cure it?

    Thanks in advance to anyone who replies, would be really appreciated.
     
  2. chelsel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #2
    Considering a switch from Windows

    I've been considering adding a Mac to my home Windows/Linux network but these issues are downright scary to hear about...

    Do you think it's a problem with the hardware or the software? When you get a kernel panic is it like the old "blue screen" from Windows? Can you recover from it?

    Cliff.
     
  3. MichaelThomas thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #3
    No I have to restart it every time.
    I love my Mac more than anything, I just cant stand when I get these Kernal Panics, never had this problem with my PowerBook
     
  4. magius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #4
    are you using a 2wire router? If so there is a fairly big thread dedicated to this somewhere (i can't find it right now, sorry, look around). and further yet if it is the case the problem is related to the latest airport update.
     
  5. MichaelThomas thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #5
    No im not using a 2wire router. I take it 2wire is a brand? I havent heard of that before.
     
  6. Osprey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far, Far Away
    #6
  7. MichaelThomas thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #7
  8. Osprey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far, Far Away
    #8
    No problem, I hope you can find a solution because it is very frustrating.
     
  9. blackslayer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #9
    hey TS..i understand that you are getting frustarted.. try this method.. It might works..courtesy to apple discussion forum
    1) Download Pacifist http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/12743

    2) Download airport extreme update 2007-002

    3) Download 10.4.9 combo update

    4) Go to /system/library/extensions and copy appleairport.kext and appleairport2.kext to a backup location just to be safe and then delete them from the extensions folder.

    5) Also in the extensions folder you'll find IO80211Family.kext and copy it to backup folder and then delete it.

    6) Mount airport extreme update dmg and then open Pacifist.

    7) In Pacifist click on "Open Package" and select the airport extreme update package.

    8) In Pacifist you will now see all the files that are in the package. Find system and expand it's tree by clicking on the triangle. then expand library and then extensions. You will now see the IO80211Family.kext file. Click once on it so it's highlighted and then click "Install".

    9) When it's done copying files expand coreservices and then menu extras. Highlight "Airport Menu" and click install.

    10) When it's done copying close the window in Pacifist for the airport update package.

    11) Now mount the 10.4.9 combo update dmg and click "Open Package" in Pacifist and select the 10.4.9 combo package.

    12) Again find the system folder and expand it and then expand the libray and extensions folders.

    13) In the extensions folder you'll see a bunch of files. Look for appleairport.kext and highlight it. Click "Install".

    14) when it's done copying you should see the appleairport2.kext. Highlight it and click "install".

    15) when Pacifist is done copying reboot your Macbook.

    16) Once booted try your internet and then jump up and down shouting YIPEEEEE!!! IT'S FIXED!!


    I have now had a solid connection for over 30 minutes on battery as I've been typing these instructions when I couldn't stay connected for more then 1-3 minutes before applying this fix.

    Who needs Applecare support!!!!...HEHEHEHE!!!!

    Hope this helps and enjoy having your internet connection back. I think I'll send Apple a bill for all my labor time fixing their bug. Boy wouldn't they just love that..LOL!!!!


    THIS IS WHAT WORKED FOR ME! FOLLOW THIS GUIDE AT YOUR OWN RISK!! I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG SUCH AS YOU DELETED THE WRONG FILES OR YOUR SYSTEM HAS OTHER ISSUES THAT MAY AFFECT THE OUTCOME!!!
     
  10. kensir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #10
    2Wire is most definitely a BRAND of router. They produce the ones currently installed by AT&T with the Homezone/Dish network service. Just throwin' it out there. (I own one..)
     

Share This Page