Kernal_Task Usage.. help?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bLaZ3n, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. bLaZ3n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #1
    Anything you guys notice? Why is kernal_task around ~400MB and Chrome always commanding so much memory? When checking my Activity Monitor my memory used is always around 3.7GB.

    I ran an EtreCheck and these are the results:

     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Chrome is a known resource hog.

    Never use Chrome on a Mac if you want good battery life and performance.
     
  3. bLaZ3n thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #3
    what browser would you recommend? Safari or Firefox?
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Safari is best for battery, I use Firefox for anything that has issues with Safari but that is pretty rare.
     
  5. bLaZ3n thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #5
    any other suggestions you can make about my system from reading the stats?
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    You don't have enough RAM.

    4GB is pretty much pushing it these days.
     
  7. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #7
    You are paging (swapping), which indicates either too little RAM or you need to shut some stuff off. My Safari run at 200MB or so so although Chrome is poor, it isn't a huge problem for you at the time these stats were taken.

    As you are running Mavericks, what is your memory pressure like? All green or into the yellow?

    Post a screenshot of your activity monitor memory and cpu pages.
     
  8. bLaZ3n, Jul 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2014

    bLaZ3n thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #8
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Seems like its in the Green.

    Look at my memory used and thats just with 3-4 tabs opened.. :eek:
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    You don't need more memory. Plus if you switch the Safari rather than Chrome you will use even less memory.
     
  10. bLaZ3n thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #10
    Well I already ordered more Ram, because this isn't my typical usage.. I have other programs I run, such as MS Office apps, and other web programming applications
     
  11. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #11
    So run those programs as well and see what the memory pressure does....

    The extra ram may just make it more/lower green though when you fit it. Best thing you can do is stop using Chrome as it burns through your battery as well as hogging ram.
     

Share This Page