Kernel Panic After Dual 500mHz Upgrade!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ddeadserious, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #1
    So I have a 450mHz single processor G4.

    I bought a used, dual 500mHz processor off eBay - said to be in good working condition/tested.

    I installed it in my Powermac - pretty straight forward.

    It now give me a kernel panic upon anything past the grey apple logo.

    I have tried resetting the PRAM to no avail.

    It will boot into Open Firmware.

    Here's a notable line that was recurring in the panic: unresolved kernel trap(cpu 1) alignment DAR

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. upsguy27 macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    Look here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1562469 Is that the kind of message you're seeing? I'd say replace the processor with the old one (a pain to do) and if it works fine, the processor is the problem. BTW, Google is your friend. ;)
     
  3. IroquoisPliskin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
  4. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #4
    Thanks alot, that showed my machine being the "problem machine".

    Bummer, guess I'll look for a faster single processor. :( Would have like to have known that before I bought the dual.

    I appreciate it, seriously. Good to know the processor isn't bad - I was gonna be mad at the ebay guy I bought it off of.
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    If you really want to and not costing a lot of money, buy a used motherboard from a dual model. You can find those for $10 and under ;) + shipping.
     
  6. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #6
    :( Well this sounded like a great idea, so I did it. Got one for like $20 shipped off eBay.

    Removed everything, installed the new MB and put everything back on except the power supply plug into the MB. Then I find that it doesn't fit.:mad:

    The motherboard side of the plug is a 22-pin plug, whereas on my single processor MB and the accompanying power supply, it's a 20-pin plug.

    Guess I'll be buying a new power supply.

    Not mad at you at all, it was a great idea, just frustrated.;)
     

Share This Page