Kernel panic after installing new internal HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dscuber9000, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. dscuber9000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, US
    #1
    I got a new internal hard drive today and I was able to physically put it into my MacBook Pro fine. I know that's not the problem. However, I'm struggling to get my MacBook Pro to turn on.

    Originally my MBP was running Leopard, then I upgraded to Snow Leopard. Now that I replaced the hard-drive, I put in the Leopard install disk and used Time Machine to restore my Mac. When that finished and turned it on, I get the kernel panic screen, and now I'm starting to panic a bit. :p Does anyone know what I can do? Right now I'm installing Snow Leopard to see if that helps...

    Edit: The hard-drive I got is a 2.5" SATA Western Digital Scorpio Black, so I'm pretty sure the brand isn't the problem...
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Can you access the OS or is it an immediate kernel panic?
     
  3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    A fresh install might fix the problem. I avoid using time machine just cuz full backups are more my flavour.

    But then again...it IS a Western Digital....:D
     
  4. dscuber9000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, US
    #4
    Immediate.

    Edit: Alright, installing Snow Leopard worked. 256GB available looks beautiful. :) Thanks for responding, guys. ^
     
  5. Jazojas12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #5
    Same thing happened with me. Ended up just cloning the original hard drive with carbon copy cloner. The new drive was pretty slow for about 3-4 days compared to the old drive, but now it's not noticeable. I read somewhere it has something to do with the cache but I don't know for sure.. Went from the 160GB to 1TB WD.
     
  6. prlax12, Apr 20, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011

    prlax12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    I had the same exact problem. I ended up having to go to the Apple Store and they just reinstalled SL from their network. It took about 15 minutes. The genius said that a lot of people have this problem and it has to do with a very particular file in Leopard being damaged or missing. In short, you will save yourself a lot of time if you just shoot over to the Apple Store and have them upgrade you.
     

Share This Page